HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Gallant by V.E. Schwab
Loading...

Gallant (original 2022; edition 2022)

by V.E. Schwab

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3891853,486 (3.94)5
Number one New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world -- full of life -- a world that mirrors it -- haunted by death -- and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother's journal -- which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home -- to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn't matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways. Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant--but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unravelled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from. Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him? New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.… (more)
Member:Beaubsi
Title:Gallant
Authors:V.E. Schwab
Info:Greenwillow
Collections:Your library, My English Books, My E-Books, Beoordeeld
Rating:*****
Tags://EN, Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery, 2022

Work Information

Gallant by V. E. Schwab (2022)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

English (17)  Dutch (1)  All languages (18)
Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
I went into this book blind, and I'm SO glad I did! I had no idea what it was even about, and sometimes not having expectations makes a book that much better. I thoroughly enjoyed the mystery, the writing, the plot - all of it! Truly a fantastic read! ( )
  sedodge | May 23, 2022 |
Olivia has spent most of her life living in the grey world of Merilance, a boarding school for orphaned girls, with only her mother's journal for company. One day a letter arrives from her uncle indicating that he's been looking for her and wants her to come to live at his estate, Gallant. While the journal's final page warns Olivia never to go there, she cannot resist the opportunity to find a family of her own. Once she arrives at Gallant she'll discover many secrets that lurk and that shadows are more threatening than she imagined.

Another solid novel from Schwab that creates a compelling tale of things that lurk in the shadows. Those familiar with Schwab's work will find some themes returning again but as always, she creates a new twist for them. The whole novel has a vaguely ominous and creepy air, amplified by the regular appearance of ghouls, the excerpt's from Olivia's mother's journal, and the strangeness of life at Gallant. Olivia is an excellent protagonist and Schwab does an excellent job of incorporating the frustrations she faces due to her mutism, which also makes the perils she face seem even greater as she's unable to call for help. The novel is also beautifully supported by gorgeous illustrations from Manuel Sumberac. Recommended for fans of Schwab's previous novels or those who like an atmospheric read that is spooky but doesn't cross into horror territory. ( )
  MickyFine | May 17, 2022 |
This is my first V.E. Schwab book, and it was a propulsive read. I kind of wanted to hug the book after reading it, like Olivia does with her mother’s journal. Hauntingly fabulous illustrations help set the eerie mood. Walls can only keep the darkness out for so long until the cracks emerge. ( )
  Lindsay_W | May 15, 2022 |
Olivia Prior has grown up at Merilance, a school for girls where she is miserable. Olivia is mute, and matron who taught her to sign left the school, so she cannot communicate with anyone (she refuses to wear a chalkboard around her neck). All Olivia has is her mother's journal, and the dubious company of the ghouls that haunt the school, and that only she can see. Until one day a letter arrives at the school, summoning Olivia to Gallant, with the promise of family. Olivia goes eagerly, not that she has a choice, but Hannah and Edgar, who work at the estate, are surprised by her arrival, and her cousin Matthew Prior wants her gone immediately. Matthew seems unwell: he is constantly pulling gray weeds from the garden, and patching the crumbling wall, and he cannot sleep at night. Soon, Olivia goes to the other side of the wall, and there she finds a shadow Gallant, where Death is master. She fights to return, and reports seeing Matthew's younger brother, Thomas; they plan a rescue mission, despite knowing it's likely to be a trap. But for Olivia, the danger is worth it, if it means she has a home and a family waiting for her if she succeeds.

See also: The Raconteur's Commonplace Book by Kate Milford, Wayward Children series by Seanan McGuire

Quotes

People assume a lot of things about Olivia.
Most of them are wrong. (7)

...she has been here long enough to know that it does not matter what you want - the only way out is to be wanted by someone else. (24)

But what is safe? ...Safe does not mean happy, does not mean well, does not mean kind. (76-77)

"Put the right words into the world...never know what you'll catch." (Edgar, 106)

Perhaps it is...the knowledge that what you can't see is always worse than what you can. (227)

Of course it is a trap...But traps are like locks. They can be picked. They can be opened. A trap is only a trap if you get caught. (260)

If death is part of the cycle, then so is life. All things fade, and all things flourish. (330)

Home is a choice. (331) ( )
  JennyArch | May 2, 2022 |
Ecstatic and Magical.................

I have been dying to say that Gallant by V. E. Schwab is one of its kind. The book takes on a magical journey of a girl's life who is set to find her identity. Each and every page was full of something new with lots of emotions. I must say that Olivia Prior's character was one of the amazing YA characters. She is young, strong and hopeful. From the beginning to the end, the plot envelopes you into a veil of love, hope and magic. Although, the climax does not end the story, it only leaves you to think ahead of it.

Gallant by V. E. Schwab deserves 5 stars for its amazing plot, characters and climax. Thanks to Netgalley and Titan Books for providing me an opportunity to read and review the book. ( )
  Sucharita1986 | Apr 29, 2022 |
Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Information from the Dutch Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To those who go looking for doors,

are brave enough to open the ones they find,

and sometimes bold enough to make their own.
First words
The master of the house stands at the garden wall.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Information from the Dutch Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Number one New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab spins a dark, original tale about our world -- full of life -- a world that mirrors it -- haunted by death -- and the manor that stands between them. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman. Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for girls, and all she has of her past is her mother's journal -- which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home -- to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home, it doesn't matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways. Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant--but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unravelled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from. Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him? New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, standalone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.94)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 6
4 26
4.5 8
5 9

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,367,178 books! | Top bar: Always visible