HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Palm Beach, Mar-a-Lago, and the Rise of…
Loading...

Palm Beach, Mar-a-Lago, and the Rise of America's Xanadu

by Les Standiford

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
711,713,404 (4)None
Looking at the island of Palm Beach today, with its unmatched mansions, tony shops, and pristine beaches, one is hard pressed to visualize the dense tangle of Palmetto brush and mangroves that it was when visionary entrepreneur and railroad tycoon Henry Flagler first arrived there in April 1893. Trusting his remarkable instincts, within less than a year he had built the Royal Poinciana Hotel, and two years later what was to become the legendary Breakers--instantly establishing the island as the preferred destination for those who could afford it. Over the next 125 years, Palm Beach has become synonymous with exclusivity--especially its most famous residence, "Mar-a-Lago." As Les Standiford relates, "the high walls of Mar-a-Lago and other manses like it were seemingly designed to contain scandal within as much as keep intruders out." With the authority and narrative prose style that has gained Standiford's work widespread acclaim,Palm Beach, Mar-a-Lago, and the Rise of America's Xanadu tells the history of this fabled landscape intertwined with the colorful lives of its famous protagonists. Flagler's own marriages to Ida Alice Shourds and Mary Lily Kenan perhaps initiated the dramas to come. While sewing machine heir Paris Singer and architect Addison Mizner created the "Mediterranean look" of Palm Beach in the 1910s, inspiring the building of such modern day palaces as Eva and Ed Stotesbury's "El Mirasol," the centerpiece of Palm Beach became the fever dreamof Marjorie Merriweather Post and her equally wealthy husband E. F. Hutton, for whom Ziegfeld Follies designer Joseph Urban built "Mar-a-Lago" in 1927. Marjorie "ruled" social Palm Beach through two other marriages and for years on her own until her death in 1973. The fate of her mansion threatened to tear apart the very fabric of the town until Donald Trump acquired it in 1985. Les Standiford brings alive a fabled place and the characters--the rich, famous and infamous alike--who have been drawn inexorably to it.… (more)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

While traveling the Mediterranean I was honored to read about a beloved former lived-in-state and one of many iconic buildings that I have been wanting to see since living in Florida in 1994. Palm Beach is where you know you want to visit, want to shop on its famous boulevard, to experience the hubbub that spirits the area, however to me I have always wanted to just wander the beach to see the great homes that reside there. It’s always been a dream to step into the rich and fabulous world of the socialites, especially after watching Robin Leach’s Lives of the Rich and Famous television show when I was a teen. Having stayed in The Breakers Hotel numerous times it was fun to read about its history, it many lives and the future it holds. Postum Heiress Majorie Post’s building of Mar-a-Lago and President Trump owning decades later has been an educational reading of this intriguing property, Les Standiford created a read that was easy, informative, fascinating and factual with a little bit of scandal to boot! I recommend this book to anyone who has ever wondered about who was brave enough to see that the hot, humid, East Coast of Florida was anything but just swamp water and muddy land. Henry Flagler was a genius in the vein of Ford, Edison and many others of the Gilded Age. East Coast Florida owes him the beautiful area they all get to live in, This book is worth a read, ( )
  SandraBrower | Oct 27, 2019 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

Les Standiford's book Palm Beach, Mar-a-Lago, and the Rise of America's Xanadu is currently available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 139,559,372 books! | Top bar: Always visible