HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Everywhere Everything Everyone
Loading...

Everywhere Everything Everyone

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
712,070,136 (3.25)None
A vivid, captivating contemporary YA novel about the power of resistance, from a stunning Australian debut author. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Z for Zachariah. Even though she lives on the wrong side of town, 16-year-old Santee believes her world is like ours: that running late for curfew will only get you grounded, and that the government tries to keep its good citizens safe and secure. Until one night, everything changes. On her way home from school, Santee takes a detour to the outskirts of town with a boy that she likes - and then finds herself stranded overnight when his car breaks down. When she's finally able to get a lift towards home the next morning, Santee discovers that everything has changed. A 'safety border' - a wall - has gone up around her part of town, imprisoning her family and trapping her on the outside... With its subtle familiarity and a tender, defiant teen romance at its core, Katy Warner's powerful debut novel is about the importance of hope and standing up for what you believe in. From small cracks, big cracks grow.   Longlisted for the 2020 ABDA Best Designed Young Adult Cover… (more)
Member:CampionLibrarySTIG
Title:Everywhere Everything Everyone
Authors:
Info:Hardie Grant Egmont
Collections:Senior Fiction
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Everywhere Everything Everyone by Katy Warner

9-10 (1) dystopia (1) dystopian (1) fiction (1) romance (1) YA (1)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Santee lives in the poorer, more crime filled area of her city. One day she goes out with a new boy Zac ( or Z) at school to a park on the other side of the city. His car breaks down and they are stuck in the bush overnight. When they finally hitch a ride back to the city, they find a wall erected between Santee's side of the city and Z's and Santee cannot get home.
This is a dystopian world where everyone is spying on everyone else so that they don't fall out of favour with the all powerful leader. Santee's father is supposedly in prison for doing just that but Santee believes he might of been killed. This is what happens when good people do nothing.
With so many echoes of the cold war and the rise and fall of the Berlin wall, this is an interesting book set in Australia. My only issue with it was that it was terribly depressing for 90% of the text and the ending was terribly abrupt. ( )
  nicsreads | May 18, 2020 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

A vivid, captivating contemporary YA novel about the power of resistance, from a stunning Australian debut author. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Z for Zachariah. Even though she lives on the wrong side of town, 16-year-old Santee believes her world is like ours: that running late for curfew will only get you grounded, and that the government tries to keep its good citizens safe and secure. Until one night, everything changes. On her way home from school, Santee takes a detour to the outskirts of town with a boy that she likes - and then finds herself stranded overnight when his car breaks down. When she's finally able to get a lift towards home the next morning, Santee discovers that everything has changed. A 'safety border' - a wall - has gone up around her part of town, imprisoning her family and trapping her on the outside... With its subtle familiarity and a tender, defiant teen romance at its core, Katy Warner's powerful debut novel is about the importance of hope and standing up for what you believe in. From small cracks, big cracks grow.   Longlisted for the 2020 ABDA Best Designed Young Adult Cover

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 173,557,639 books! | Top bar: Always visible