HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Last Flight: A Novel

by Julie Clark

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2442379,803 (4.1)3
"Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine will love The Last Flight, a novel focusing on two women who meet in an airport, both alone, both scared, and both urgently needing an escape from their lives. Claire Cook has a husband whose temper burns as bright as his promising political career, and she has worked for months on a plan to get out. A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a stranger equally as desperate. Together they hatch a plan to switch tickets - Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. But then one plane crashes, and it's clear that one of them wasn't telling the truth"--… (more)

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 23 (next | show all)
This is a story of two women. Two women dealing with situations created by the belief that women are unreliable and expendable; whose truths when set side by side with a man’s don’t matter. Two women, so desperate to escape their lives, take a chance on each other despite being total strangers. Two women who may be living their last moments as themselves. Two women impotent with rage. Two women who are running, but it is away from or to their destruction? ( )
  kimkimkim | Sep 28, 2020 |
This is a fast-paced mystery with two protagonists, Claire and Eva. They are very different, but smart and strong, women caught in circumstances from which they both want/need to escape. Claire is married to a wealthy, charming, admired, controlling, future politician who is abusive both mentally and physically. It's better for me to say less about Eva since her background and reasons for wanting to disappear are slower to evolve.

A chance meeting at JFK Airport and the two women switch airline tickets, phones, and purses. Claire flies to Oakland instead of Puerto Rico and Eva takes Claire's flight to Puerto Rico instead of to Oakland.

The novel has short chapters with two points-of-view. There is a lot of switching back and forth plus the backstories; however, the author did a great job with the flow of the novel.

I had a hard time with Eva's character. I couldn't feel very sorry for her because she felt like she's always been a victim even though she made terrible choices in her life. Also, she showed no remorse for the wrong things she did. I've known people like Eva who play the victim card and I've known those who have no remorse for their wrongdoing.

This is a hard review to write without spoilers. There are some clever twists that I certainly didn't see coming, the characters seemed real, and the ending was surprising. Julie Clark has written a thriller that grabs you at the start and holds you to the last page! ( )
  pegmcdaniel | Sep 27, 2020 |
Fun read. Nice twists ( )
  shazjhb | Sep 26, 2020 |
3.8 ( )
  juliarum | Sep 21, 2020 |
The Last Flight by Julie Clark engrossed so much that I spent all day reading the book. The book describes the perils of a wife living with an abusive husband and her lack of action. Julie Clark presents the tale of Eva and of Claire, each woman driven to escape her present life and jumps into the abyss of uncertainty. In a chance move, the two women change identities and the story jumps into action. Claire is running from her abusive and powerful and rich husband. Eva runs from a life as a drug chemist and dealer. One will fly to California and one will fly to Puerto Rico. The flight to Puerto Rico plummets into the ocean and the world mourns the death of Claire. Julie Clark filters the narrative between Eva and Claire. Julie Clark writes well, but Louise Penny and Martha Grimes present a better story. The psychology of the characters diminishes in her novel, and setting is secondary. Still an intriguing book. ( )
  delphimo | Sep 14, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 23 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.

                                           ---Mary Oliver, Wild Geese
Dedication
Dedicated to all the women who have come forward with their stories. Whether it be in front of a congressional panel on live television or alone in a windowless human resources office--- we hear you. We believe you.
First words
Terminal 4 swarms with people, the smell of wet wool and jet fuel thick around me.
Quotations
The loss had faded, as all losses did, replaced by something harder. Stronger. She could see now what she couldn't see then. All choices had consequences. It was what you did with those consequences that mattered.
Everything you ever wanted is on the other side of fear.
This is what it's like to die, having left so much unfinished. It still tethers you---like an in breakable thread, always leading your thoughts back to if only. But if only is a useless question, a spotlight shining on an empty stage, illuminating what never was, and never will be.
"You know, life is long. Lots of things can go wrong and still end up all right."
This was the funny thing about regret. It lived inside of you, shrinking down until you could almost believe it had vanished, only to have it spring up, fully formed, call forwarded by people who meant you no harm.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine will love The Last Flight, a novel focusing on two women who meet in an airport, both alone, both scared, and both urgently needing an escape from their lives. Claire Cook has a husband whose temper burns as bright as his promising political career, and she has worked for months on a plan to get out. A chance meeting in an airport bar brings her together with a stranger equally as desperate. Together they hatch a plan to switch tickets - Claire taking Eva's flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire. But then one plane crashes, and it's clear that one of them wasn't telling the truth"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.1)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 8
3.5 5
4 25
4.5 11
5 11

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 150,921,096 books! | Top bar: Always visible