HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Better Than the Movies

by Lynn Painter

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5231743,910 (4.14)3
Romance. Humor (Fiction.) Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A USA TODAY and New York Times bestseller

Perfect for fans of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, this "sweet and funny" (Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks) teen rom-com follows a hopelessly romantic teen girl and her cute yet obnoxious neighbor as they scheme to get her noticed by her untouchable crush.
Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he's back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radarā??and maybe snag him as a prom dateā??even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz's butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz's in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she's shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about loveā??and rethink her own ideas of what Happily Ever After should l
… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
This book genuinely had me questioning why I couldn't have a neighbor like this! I loved the effort Wes put into talking with Liz's even throughout their little rivalry. It was amazing and honestly made me realize how single I was when her parents told her about him listening to her play. There is so many amazing scenes in this book. I truly mean this when I say this book will hold a special place in my heart ( )
  florrrrr12 | Aug 31, 2023 |
3.5 ( )
  AlwaysRachael | Jul 14, 2023 |
This book is such a cute romance and I loved it SO MUCH! I bought it before I read it and do not regret it at all. Iā€™m going to read The Do-Over which is also by Lynn Painter but havenā€™t gotten to it yet. ( )
  sokeefe-3 | May 19, 2023 |
Was almost just a boring clichƩ until the near end of the book ( )
  Lcg31 | Apr 3, 2023 |
Well it appears my knowledge of romcom movies is pretty amazing.

I honestly think there was only one movie line I didn't recognise straight away. I feel oddly proud. Yay for my university and early work life days avoiding essays and job stuff by watching these modern day classics. I really did enjoy this light-hearted and funny romance. I thought the characters were endearing and the dynamics hugely entertaining. I've ordered 2 copies for the school library! ( )
  Mrs_Tapsell_Bookzone | Feb 14, 2023 |
Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
My mother taught me the golden rule of dating before I even hit the second grade.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Romance. Humor (Fiction.) Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:A USA TODAY and New York Times bestseller

Perfect for fans of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, this "sweet and funny" (Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks) teen rom-com follows a hopelessly romantic teen girl and her cute yet obnoxious neighbor as they scheme to get her noticed by her untouchable crush.
Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he's back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radarā??and maybe snag him as a prom dateā??even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz's butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz's in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she's shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about loveā??and rethink her own ideas of what Happily Ever After should l

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.14)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 12
3.5
4 22
4.5 1
5 25

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 194,983,747 books! | Top bar: Always visible