HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

We Are the Brennans: A Novel by Tracey Lange
Loading...

We Are the Brennans: A Novel (original 2021; edition 2021)

by Tracey Lange (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2932473,699 (3.84)4
'An astonishingly accomplished debut - the Brennans leap fully formed onto the page in this brilliantly judged novel of the intricacies of family life . . . Wholly engrossing.' Cathy KellySome secrets you keep from your family. And some secrets you keep for your family. When twenty-nine-year-old Sunday Brennan wakes up in a Los Angeles hospital, bruised and battered after a drunk-driving accident she caused, she swallows her pride and goes home to her family in New York. But it's not easy. She deserted them all - and her high school sweetheart - five years before, with little explanation, and they've got questions. Sunday is determined to rebuild her life back on the East Coast, even if it does mean tiptoeing around resentful brothers and an ex-fiancé. The longer she stays, however, the more she realizes they need her just as much as she needs them. When a dangerous man from her past brings her family's pub business to the brink of financial ruin, the only way to protect them is to upend all of their secrets - secrets that have damaged the family for generations and will threaten everything they know about their lives. In the aftermath, the Brennan family is forced to confront painful mistakes-and ultimately find a way forward, together. In the vein of Maggie O'Farrell and John Boyne, Tracey Lange's critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame-and the redemptive power of love, in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.'An astonishingly accomplished debut . . . Secrets abound and it's blissful to watch the Brennans from the sidelines . . .Wholly engrossing.' Cathy Kelly… (more)
Member:Kristina_Olga
Title:We Are the Brennans: A Novel
Authors:Tracey Lange (Author)
Info:Celadon Books (2021), 288 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange (2021)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 4 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
A very solid family drama with quite realistic characters and interesting story. ( )
  tonimeter | May 13, 2022 |
An interesting story about an Irish family. Somewhat predictable but there were some interesting situations and characters. ( )
  shazjhb | Jan 14, 2022 |
Certainly a page turner and fun read. I found the end too obvious and hated how everything was wrapped up at the end. I didn't want all the couples to work everything out. I would have liked more surprising twists; however, I couldn't put it down, so I obviously enjoyed it. ( )
  Beth.Clarke | Dec 30, 2021 |
Sunday Brennan, the only girl among three brothers, has been living on her own in L.A. for five years, but when she drives drunk and gets into an accident, her brother Denny is still her emergency contact, and he convinces her to come home to New York, at least for a while. There, inevitably, secrets begin to unravel - and there are a LOT of secrets. They're all connected in some way to the Walsh family, but each Brennan has a piece of the story, and their secrets are hurting each other.

See also: The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo, The Walking People by Mary Beth Keane

Quotes

It was painful to recognize failings in the people you idolized. (Kale, 88)

"You end up feeling like you're in it alone, but it's your own fault. You got to give trust to get it, Denny." (Theresa, 202)

He was stuck somewhere between their past and their present and didn't know how to get unstuck without the answer to that question. (Kale, 211)

He'd blamed her for so long. Now it seemed his dad deserved just as much blame, if not more. Whatever. He was tired of blaming people, including himself. (Jackie, 226)

They just lacked a fundamental intimacy that kept someone from feeling alone in the world. (Kale and Vivienne, 259)

Family didn't mean hiding the hard stuff from each other, it meant facing it together. And it meant forgiving each other. (271) ( )
  JennyArch | Nov 7, 2021 |
This was quite nicely written, but a bit typical Maeve Binchy family saga-y. ( )
  pgchuis | Nov 7, 2021 |
Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Monday's child is fair of face
Tuesday's child is full of grace
Wednesday's child is full of woe
Thursday's child has far to go
Friday's child is loving and giving
Saturday's child works hard for his living . . .
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

---OLD ENGLISH NURSERY RHYME
Dedication
To Freddy
For making everything possible
First words
The grinding noise and vibration of the rumble strips under her passenger-side tires snapped Sunday to attention.
Quotations
You got to give trust to get it...
Shame and guilt are like plagues. And we Irish wield them like weapons and wear them like medals.
Family didn't mean hiding the hard stuff from each other, it meant facing it together.  And it meant forgiving each other.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

'An astonishingly accomplished debut - the Brennans leap fully formed onto the page in this brilliantly judged novel of the intricacies of family life . . . Wholly engrossing.' Cathy KellySome secrets you keep from your family. And some secrets you keep for your family. When twenty-nine-year-old Sunday Brennan wakes up in a Los Angeles hospital, bruised and battered after a drunk-driving accident she caused, she swallows her pride and goes home to her family in New York. But it's not easy. She deserted them all - and her high school sweetheart - five years before, with little explanation, and they've got questions. Sunday is determined to rebuild her life back on the East Coast, even if it does mean tiptoeing around resentful brothers and an ex-fiancé. The longer she stays, however, the more she realizes they need her just as much as she needs them. When a dangerous man from her past brings her family's pub business to the brink of financial ruin, the only way to protect them is to upend all of their secrets - secrets that have damaged the family for generations and will threaten everything they know about their lives. In the aftermath, the Brennan family is forced to confront painful mistakes-and ultimately find a way forward, together. In the vein of Maggie O'Farrell and John Boyne, Tracey Lange's critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame-and the redemptive power of love, in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.'An astonishingly accomplished debut . . . Secrets abound and it's blissful to watch the Brennans from the sidelines . . .Wholly engrossing.' Cathy Kelly

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.84)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 17
3.5 8
4 30
4.5 6
5 10

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,287,311 books! | Top bar: Always visible