HomeGroupsTalkExplore
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

You're So Dead

by Ash Parsons

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
414550,742 (3.43)None
"Fans of Karen M. McManus and Katie Alender will devour this darkly funny, fast-paced mystery."--SLJ   A hilarious Agatha Christie-inspired YA thriller-comedy about three best friends who sneak into an influencers-only festival event (gone wrong), only to discover a killer is in their midst--and they have to uncover the truth and solve the mystery before it's too late. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious. Plum Winter has always come in second to her sister, the unbelievably cool, famous influencer Peach Winter. And when Peach is invited to an all-expenses-paid trip to a luxurious art-and-music festival for influencers on a private island in the Caribbean, Plum decides it's finally her time to shine. So she intercepts the invite--and asks her two best friends, Sofia and Marlowe, to come along to the fest with her. It'll be a spring break they'll never forget. But when Plum and her friends get to the island, it's not anything like it seemed in the invite. The island is run-down, creepy, and there doesn't even seem to be a festival--it's just seven other quasi-celebrities and influencers, and none of the glitz and glamour she expected. Then people start to die... Plum and her friends soon realize that someone has lured each of them to the "festival" to kill them. Someone has a vendetta against every person on the island--and no one is supposed to leave alive. So, together, Plum, Sofia, and Marlowe will do whatever it takes to unravel the mystery of the killer, and fight to save themselves and as many influencers as they can, before it's too late.   Praise for You're So Dead:   "You're So Dead is the hilarious, swoony, Surprisingly Stabby book of my dreams! Ash Parsons delivers a sharp send-up of influencer culture wrapped in a clever whodunnit that also has a lot of heart. While I never want to go to "Pyre Festival," I'd hang out with Plum, Marlowe, and Sofia any day."--Rachel Hawkins, New York Times Bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs "Parsons (Girls Save the World in This One) gently satirizes online culture and the ill-fated Fyre Festival in this frothy homage to Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None. The cheeky mystery is both clever and satisfying." --Publishers Weekly   "Parsons effectively mixes social media commentary and thrilling murder mystery with a dash of ridiculous humor . . . A #trendy and #entertaining whodunit." --Kirkus Reviews   "[A]riveting thriller-comedy...writing in short, energetic bursts with a witty voice, Parsons keeps the twists coming, her motley crew's energy running frantic as the body count rises and they try to discover the killer in their midst." --Booklist… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 4 of 4
It is very obvious from the beginning that this is a parody of the Fyre festival that didn’t happen. The Fyre festival was supposed to be this big party on an island reminiscent of things like Coachella. However for this book they’ve turned it in to a murder mystery. Oh my god is this book boring and predictable. The first 130 pages are all about Plum. She feels inferior to her 10 years older influencer sister, and she wants a chance to just do something crazy. She steals her sister’s Pyre Festival ticket, turns it in for two business class tickets so she can take her friends with her to this party. However, from the minute they get on the boat the reader can tell something is wrong. None of the influencers are big influencers. They are people never heard of of by other characters. Then when they get to the island things are already odd. And it just goes on and on. The author tries to put in a love story between Plum and her friend but this reader was so sick of it by the time the first person died. I really wanted one of the girls to be the first to die. This book had potential it’s just not been met. The book spends so much time trying to set a scene, trying to set a murder, and trying to set a feeling, that none of it works. As an older reader, this screams of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. And by the middle of the book a character even says that this is that story. I really wanted this book to work it just didn’t. Am I glad I didn’t DNF it, however will this book be around in 20 years? No. I doubt it’s around in five years. If you really want a good mystery read the original. If you might want a horror novel try Clown in the Cornfield, or anything by Karen McManus to get a little horror and a lot of whodunit thrills. ( )
  LibrarianRyan | May 27, 2022 |
This was the perfect mix of parody and thriller. It’s so good!! ( )
  bookishreputation | Jul 28, 2021 |
A deliciously clever romp through Instagram influencer culture.

When Plum intercepts an invitation to the exclusive Pyre Festival, intended for her half-sister, Instagram influencer Peach, she thinks its her chance to have a spring break to remember. She convinces her two best friends to tell their parents they're headed to a beach in Florida, leaving out the private island in the Caribbean part. But when they arrive, there's only a few other Instagram influencers there. It soon becomes apparent that someone wants them all dead, and they just might be trapped with a serial killer.

This book is wickedly amusing, mocking the influencers and their "thing" that made each of them go viral. But it also takes a more serious dive into influencer culture, including how people exploit others for likes and how some of them can make into a very successful, lucrative job.

Plum, Marlowe and Sofia are lovable as three fashion-forward teens who aren't supposed to be there. But as the body count stacks up on the private island, it brings their own secrets to light, including feelings that some of them have for each other.

Thank you to NetGalley and Penguin Teen for the advance review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Asingrey | Feb 17, 2021 |
A deliciously clever romp through Instagram influencer culture.

When Plum intercepts an invitation to the exclusive Pyre Festival, intended for her half-sister, Instagram influencer Peach, she thinks its her chance to have a spring break to remember. She convinces her two best friends to tell their parents they're headed to a beach in Florida, leaving out the private island in the Caribbean part. But when they arrive, there's only a few other Instagram influencers there. It soon becomes apparent that someone wants them all dead, and they just might be trapped with a serial killer.

This book is wickedly amusing, mocking the influencers and their "thing" that made each of them go viral. But it also takes a more serious dive into influencer culture, including how people exploit others for likes and how some of them can make into a very successful, lucrative job.

Plum, Marlowe and Sofia are lovable as three fashion-forward teens who aren't supposed to be there. But as the body count stacks up on the private island, it brings their own secrets to light, including feelings that some of them have for each other.

Thank you to NetGalley and Penguin Teen for the advance review copy of this book. ( )
  Asingrey | Jan 27, 2021 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Fans of Karen M. McManus and Katie Alender will devour this darkly funny, fast-paced mystery."--SLJ   A hilarious Agatha Christie-inspired YA thriller-comedy about three best friends who sneak into an influencers-only festival event (gone wrong), only to discover a killer is in their midst--and they have to uncover the truth and solve the mystery before it's too late. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious. Plum Winter has always come in second to her sister, the unbelievably cool, famous influencer Peach Winter. And when Peach is invited to an all-expenses-paid trip to a luxurious art-and-music festival for influencers on a private island in the Caribbean, Plum decides it's finally her time to shine. So she intercepts the invite--and asks her two best friends, Sofia and Marlowe, to come along to the fest with her. It'll be a spring break they'll never forget. But when Plum and her friends get to the island, it's not anything like it seemed in the invite. The island is run-down, creepy, and there doesn't even seem to be a festival--it's just seven other quasi-celebrities and influencers, and none of the glitz and glamour she expected. Then people start to die... Plum and her friends soon realize that someone has lured each of them to the "festival" to kill them. Someone has a vendetta against every person on the island--and no one is supposed to leave alive. So, together, Plum, Sofia, and Marlowe will do whatever it takes to unravel the mystery of the killer, and fight to save themselves and as many influencers as they can, before it's too late.   Praise for You're So Dead:   "You're So Dead is the hilarious, swoony, Surprisingly Stabby book of my dreams! Ash Parsons delivers a sharp send-up of influencer culture wrapped in a clever whodunnit that also has a lot of heart. While I never want to go to "Pyre Festival," I'd hang out with Plum, Marlowe, and Sofia any day."--Rachel Hawkins, New York Times Bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs "Parsons (Girls Save the World in This One) gently satirizes online culture and the ill-fated Fyre Festival in this frothy homage to Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None. The cheeky mystery is both clever and satisfying." --Publishers Weekly   "Parsons effectively mixes social media commentary and thrilling murder mystery with a dash of ridiculous humor . . . A #trendy and #entertaining whodunit." --Kirkus Reviews   "[A]riveting thriller-comedy...writing in short, energetic bursts with a witty voice, Parsons keeps the twists coming, her motley crew's energy running frantic as the body count rises and they try to discover the killer in their midst." --Booklist

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.43)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 1
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 182,769,866 books! | Top bar: Always visible