HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Goliath

by Tochi Onyebuchi

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
280996,389 (3.43)5
"'Onyebuchi sets fire to the boundary between fiction and reality, and brings a crumbling city and an all too plausible future to vibrant life. Riveting, disturbing, and rendered in masterful detail.'-Leigh Bardugo In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked. A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives-a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth's crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping-into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history"--… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
Since this novel has been published, I've picked it up and put it down several times. Picked it up because of a recognition that Onyebuchi is an important writer. Put it down because I'm currently having enough issues with processing the evils of today, let alone the evils of the future. Having said that the positives of this book are the grace of Onyebuchi's prose, and how he is essentially writing the the African-American experience of oppression into the record of traditional American speculative fiction. The downside is that, yeah, you really have to be in the right mood to tackle this novel, as while I can understand the mosaic-like approach that was adopted, your concentration really has to be engaged without having a specific protagonist to carry you through to the ending. ( )
  Shrike58 | Feb 24, 2024 |
Told in first, second, and third person points of view through fictional newspaper articles and diary entries and narratives, this dystopic novel is set in the 2050s. In what appears to be a parallel of white flight following the 1960s race riots, people with the means and privilege are departing Earth for the first American suburban space colony after a viral plague provokes a great political divide. Those left behind in the radiation-poisoned, resource-depleted American wasteland salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure, scratching out a living as their homes and neighborhoods are being dismantled to send to the colonies. Mr. Onyebuchi’s novel is a tapestry woven from the strands of structural inequality, racism, classism, poverty, and privilege; by no means a pretty book, but certainly a thought-provoking one. ( )
  bschweiger | Feb 4, 2024 |
There's absolutely no story here - just a bunch of random people doing random things in post-apocalyptic New York and chattering in a desultory, dull way that doesn't illuminate either the situation or their characters. ( )
  SChant | Apr 3, 2023 |
I couldn't get into this.
  Gwendydd | Jan 21, 2023 |
https://fromtheheartofeurope.eu/goliath-by-tochi-onyebuchi/

In America a few decades from now, white folks have mostly left the poisoned, plague-ridden land to live the high life in space, with people of colour left to scrabble around in the ruins. But there is a lot more to it than that enraging situation (not too different from where we are now); Onyebuchi plays with Biblical tropes, the dynamics of religion, of white folks unwittingly making things worse, sexuality and acceptance, all in rich prose which jumps along its own timeline without ever losing the run of itself. Recommended. ( )
  nwhyte | Nov 19, 2022 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (1 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Tochi Onyebuchiprimary authorall editionscalculated
Campbell, TimNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Free, Kevin R.Narratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Jackson, JDNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Lazarre-White, AdamNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Small, ShaynaNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sous La Terre, NidraNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Vélez, JulianaNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Willis, StephanieNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
To Amber
First words
Before his flight to Earth, they had warned Jonathan about the "gangs."
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"'Onyebuchi sets fire to the boundary between fiction and reality, and brings a crumbling city and an all too plausible future to vibrant life. Riveting, disturbing, and rendered in masterful detail.'-Leigh Bardugo In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked. A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives-a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth's crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping-into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.43)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 7
3.5 3
4 9
4.5
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,417,005 books! | Top bar: Always visible