HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Prisoner of Paradise

by Rob Samborn

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
2None4,434,135NoneNone
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews

A mysterious painting. An ancient Order. A love that transcends time.

Rob Samborn’s The Prisoner of Paradise is an immersive, otherworldly tale of forbidden love, a dangerous brotherhood, and a most unusual purgatory. Spanning four centuries from Renaissance Venice to modern-day, Samborn invites his readers to unravel a vast conspiracy of secrets, murder, and trapped souls, in this rousing and thought-provoking thriller perfect for fans of Dan Brown.

This book truly has it all: action, adventure, history, romance, and mystery. It's one that you'll think about long after you finish reading and one that would make a phenomenal movie.

I can't recommend it enough, and book two can't come out soon enough. Rob Samborn is a writer to watch!
 
Rob Samborn’s imaginative thriller, THE PRISONER OF PARADISE, masterfully immerses the reader in Venice’s classical art world, from a high-society black-tie gala in the Doge’s Palace to a fascinating artist’s studio. I breathlessly followed the young American couple as they discovered that, as in Tintoretto’s monumental painting “Paradise,” political power, spirituality and beauty are not constrained by Earthly boundaries, not even by time.
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

No library descriptions found.

Book description
A man on the brink of insanity traverses present-day and Renaissance Venice to save his soul mate from eternal purgatory.

...

The world’s largest oil painting. A 400-year-old murder. A disembodied whisper: “Amore mio.” My love.

Nick and Julia O’Connor’s dream trip to Venice collapses when a haunting voice reaches out to Nick from Tintoretto’s Paradise, a monumental depiction of Heaven. Convinced his delusions are the result of a concussion, Julia insists her husband see a doctor, though Nick is adamant the voice was real.

Blacking out in the museum, Nick flashes back to a life as a 16th century Venetian peasant swordsman. He recalls precisely who the voice belongs to: Isabella Scalfini, a married aristocrat he was tasked to seduce but with whom he instead found true love. A love stolen from them hundreds of years prior.

She implores Nick to liberate her from a powerful order of religious vigilantes who judge and sentence souls to the canvas for eternity. Releasing Isabella also means unleashing thousands of other imprisoned souls, all of which the order claims are evil.

As infatuation with a possible hallucination clouds his commitment to a present-day wife, Nick’s past self takes over. Wracked with guilt, he can no longer allow Isabella to remain tormented, despite the consequences. He must right an age-old wrong – destroy the painting and free his soul mate. But the order will eradicate anyone who threatens their ethereal prison and their control over Venice.
Haiku summary
A lost soul mate found.
A painting is her prison.
Freedom has a price.

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

's book The Prisoner of Paradise is currently available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

LibraryThing Author

is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: No ratings.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 163,434,704 books! | Top bar: Always visible