HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Sleepover

by Michael Regina

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
252932,955 (4)None
Comic and Graphic Books. Fantasy. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:Perfect for fans of Stranger Things, this middle grade graphic novel follows a group of kids trying to cheer up their friend after a recent loss with a fun-filled sleepover, but their plans soon take a dark turn when they discover his new nanny may literally be a monster.
When the Russo family returns home from vacation to discover their nanny, Ruby, has unexpectedly passed away, Matthew takes the news the hardest. After weeks of reeling, his three best friends decide to cheer him up with a night of junk food, prank calls, and scary movies. But their plans for a sleepover are jeopardized when Matt's single motherâ??unable to take any more time off of workâ??is forced to hire a new nanny on the fly to watch over Matt and his younger sister, Judy.
Miss Swan, however, is all too happy to have the boys over. And although she seems like the perfect babysitter, letting the kids eat whatever they want and mostly leaving them alone, there's something about her that Matt doesn't trust. He thinks she may actually be the witch from local legendâ??the one who torments children into the night and then eats them. Is he just having a hard time dealing with Ruby's replacement, as his friends suspect? Has he watched one too many scary movies, as his mom fears? Or are he and his horror-buff friends in for the fright of their lives as they come face-to-face with a real
… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
My review of this book can be found on my YouTube Vlog at:

https://youtu.be/EJZpDpJLa1s

Enjoy! ( )
  booklover3258 | Apr 10, 2024 |
Overall, I liked this. The story was brimming with tension and real stakes. Matthew is struggling with grief when his favorite nanny unexpectedly passes away (Ruby gives those magical negro vibes, but she’s all right), and isolates himself and becomes gloomy. He’s very nasty to his sister as well.

Matthew just wants to hold onto Rubys’ memory, but his mom has to go back to work, and Ruby's replacement Ms Swan is very unsettling.

I know little boys roast and make fun of each other all the time, but I thought all the friends were overly mean to Charlie.

3.5 ( )
  DestDest | Apr 21, 2022 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
Dedicated to Ruby Ward
First words
The X-Files is the best show of all time!
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Comic and Graphic Books. Fantasy. Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:Perfect for fans of Stranger Things, this middle grade graphic novel follows a group of kids trying to cheer up their friend after a recent loss with a fun-filled sleepover, but their plans soon take a dark turn when they discover his new nanny may literally be a monster.
When the Russo family returns home from vacation to discover their nanny, Ruby, has unexpectedly passed away, Matthew takes the news the hardest. After weeks of reeling, his three best friends decide to cheer him up with a night of junk food, prank calls, and scary movies. But their plans for a sleepover are jeopardized when Matt's single motherâ??unable to take any more time off of workâ??is forced to hire a new nanny on the fly to watch over Matt and his younger sister, Judy.
Miss Swan, however, is all too happy to have the boys over. And although she seems like the perfect babysitter, letting the kids eat whatever they want and mostly leaving them alone, there's something about her that Matt doesn't trust. He thinks she may actually be the witch from local legendâ??the one who torments children into the night and then eats them. Is he just having a hard time dealing with Ruby's replacement, as his friends suspect? Has he watched one too many scary movies, as his mom fears? Or are he and his horror-buff friends in for the fright of their lives as they come face-to-face with a real

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 207,205,305 books! | Top bar: Always visible