HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Truth and Other Lies

by Maggie Smith

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1511,211,307 (3.67)None
"Fraud. Secrets. Politics. Her front-page story could ruin three careers. Megan Barnes' life is in free fall. After losing both her job as a reporter and her boyfriend on the same day, she retreats to Chicago and moves in with Helen, her over-protective mother. Before long, the two are clashing over everything from pro-choice to #MeToo, not to mention Helen's run for U.S. Congress, which puts Megan's career on hold until after the election. Desperate to reboot her life, Megan gets her chance when an altercation at a campus rally brings her face-to-face with Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jocelyn Jones, who offers her a job on her PR team. Before long, Megan is pulled into the heady world of fame and influence her charismatic new mentor represents. Until an anonymous tweet brings it all crashing down. To salvage Jocelyn's reputation, Megan must locate the online troll and expose the lies. But when the trail leads to blackmail and circles back to her own mother, Megan realizes if she pulls any harder on this thread, what should have been the scoop of her career could unravel into a tabloid nightmare. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, this shrewdly-observed, fast-paced debut centers around the corrosive nature of lies, the complexity of female relationships, and the pervasive reach of the internet into all our lives"--… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Megan Barnes has just lost both her job as a reporter and her boyfriend in the same day, Her life in shambles, she makes the decision to head back home to Chicago determined to reinvent herself and her life. Its not long before she remembers the frustration of living with her over-protective mother, especially when her mother announces a run for Congress; With so m any hot topics becoming a focus its not long long before Megan and her mother are sparring constantly from the major differences in their opinions. After receiving a job offer from a woman she idolizes everything is at stake once again.

Sharp, Witty, and completely raw, Truth and other Lies shines a spotlight on what its like to be a woman, a mother, and a journalist by weaving together the lies, secrets, and ambition with different motivations painting a brilliantly crafted picture of how our choices mold not just our lives but the lives of everyone we're close to, making this story readers won't be able to put it down.

Thank you to netgalley and publisher for providing me with an advance e-copy, providing me with the opportunity to honestly recommend this book to every one looking for a relevant and compelling story ( )
  chasingholden | Apr 26, 2022 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"Fraud. Secrets. Politics. Her front-page story could ruin three careers. Megan Barnes' life is in free fall. After losing both her job as a reporter and her boyfriend on the same day, she retreats to Chicago and moves in with Helen, her over-protective mother. Before long, the two are clashing over everything from pro-choice to #MeToo, not to mention Helen's run for U.S. Congress, which puts Megan's career on hold until after the election. Desperate to reboot her life, Megan gets her chance when an altercation at a campus rally brings her face-to-face with Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jocelyn Jones, who offers her a job on her PR team. Before long, Megan is pulled into the heady world of fame and influence her charismatic new mentor represents. Until an anonymous tweet brings it all crashing down. To salvage Jocelyn's reputation, Megan must locate the online troll and expose the lies. But when the trail leads to blackmail and circles back to her own mother, Megan realizes if she pulls any harder on this thread, what should have been the scoop of her career could unravel into a tabloid nightmare. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, this shrewdly-observed, fast-paced debut centers around the corrosive nature of lies, the complexity of female relationships, and the pervasive reach of the internet into all our lives"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 177,329,363 books! | Top bar: Always visible