HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Witch and Famous (Witch Way Librarian…
Loading...

Witch and Famous (Witch Way Librarian Mysteries) (edition 2022)

by Angela M. Sanders (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1631,151,533 (3.86)None
Set in small-town Oregon, the latest in the witty, charming Witch Way Librarian series from bestselling and acclaimed author Angela M. Sanders features a spellbinding heroine, a clever cat familiar, a glamorous movie star--and of course, murder. The perfect read for fans of Bailey Cates, Adele Abbott, Juliet Blackwell, and all mystery lovers with a taste for the witchy. For a tiny town, picturesque Wilfred, Oregon, has everything, including an impressive library housed in a Victorian mansion, a touch of magic in new librarian and fledgling witch, Josie Way, a visiting movie star--and a curious tendency toward murder...   Josie and all of Wilfred are buzzing with excitement. A-list movie star Daphne Morris has chosen to interview Roz, assistant librarian and novelist, for her book club. But when the glamorous actress quickly charms both Roz's long-time love and Sheriff Sam, the object of Josie's unrequited affection, Josie turns to the whispers from her beloved books for ideas on revising the plot. Yet soon there's another twist . . .   At a party to celebrate the interview, Daphne's personal chef is found dead in a scene that all too closely echoes one in Roz's novel. It's clear to Josie that someone's idea of a happy ending means framing her friend. She'll have to read between the lines with the help of the library's enchanted stacks, guidance from her magical grandmother's letters, and her cat familiar, Rodney, to solve this murder before someone decides to stage a deadly sequel . . .  … (more)
Member:Paulajr
Title:Witch and Famous (Witch Way Librarian Mysteries)
Authors:Angela M. Sanders (Author)
Info:Kensington Cozies (2022), 272 pages
Collections:To read
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Witch and Famous (Witch Way Librarian Mysteries) by Angela M. Sanders

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
Movie star Daphne Morris is coming to Wilfred to interview Josie’s assistant librarian, Roz, about her latest novel. Everyone is excited, but the fervor reaches new heights when the celebrity’s chef is found dead in the star’s bathtub. Meanwhile, it seems that the star’s beauty is having an effect on the menfolk, specifically on Roz’s boyfriend and on Josie’s crush. Josie is going to have to call on her powers – as well as on her friends, including the books – to save her assistant and the interview. It’s quite a story, complete with intriguing characters and an engrossing plot, and a great addition to this entertaining series. ( )
  Maydacat | Sep 21, 2022 |
Witch and Famous by Angela M. Sanders is the third novel in A Witch Way Librarian Mysteries. Witch and Famous is an amusing paranormal cozy mystery. Josie Wray is an interesting main character. She is a librarian with special magical abilities. I like that her special gift is bibliomancy. Josie can talk to and hear the books. Josie can recommend the perfect book for each patron. She is slowly learning how to use her magic thanks to letters (magical lessons) left to her by her grandmother. There are a variety of quirky characters in the story. Wilfred, Oregon is a small town where everyone knows your business and gossip flows faster than maple syrup on hot pancakes. There are many amusing incidents. I was not a fan of the women getting jealous when Daphne Morris smiled and flirted with their beaus. I found Roz’ behavior to be juvenile. Roz really let the green-eyed monster get to her. Josie has no reason to be jealous because Sam is just her friend. Josie has a “crush” on Sam, but he treats her like a good friend. The mystery was a fun one to solve. I like how the clues were sprinkled throughout the book. There are red herrings to distract readers from solving the crime before the reveal. I did feel the reveal was a bit rushed considering the complexity. The solution to the crime suited the story. I enjoyed the books dialogue and how the various books behaved. The book on racing was particularly amusing. There is humor scattered throughout the story to keep readers amused. Witch and Famous can be read as a standalone as the author provides the necessary background information on our main character. You will be missing out details regarding the townspeople. The story is a bit of a slow starter with most of the action taking place in the second half. The magic helped spice up the story. Josie is slowly learning her craft, but she does need to learn caution. I was glad that the name of the town was not mentioned so frequently as in Bait and Witch. With and Famous is a magical tale with a magnetic movie star, prying residents, fatal threats, a mischievous feline, a green-eyed girlfriend, a smitten sheriff, a powerful potion, and a meddling librarian. ( )
  Kris_Anderson | Aug 23, 2022 |
As I’ve mentioned in my review for book two, the Witch Way Librarian Mysteries by Angela M. Sanders is becoming my favorite paranormal cozy mystery series. The way Josie uses the books to help her find answers and how they talk to her is many a book lover’s dream… including mine… and the scene with the book ballet and the racing book… fantastic!.

As for the characters, there are so many quirky ones to enjoy. I really like how Rodney, her familiar, is sassy and actually helps her in the way that familiars do. In many other paranormal series it seems like the cat is just kind of there because witches are supposed to have cats. The library has become the gathering spot since the diner has been closed which leads to some really amusing scenes with a bunch of the characters.

There were a couple of rough spots, but is every book ever really perfect for every reader? The two that got to me were how jealous (and how much of the book this troupe took up) Josie and Roz got when the movie star flirted with “their” men. And Josie isn’t even together with the guy she has a crush on.
The other part was the ending… there was so much going on (and it was the perfect Agatha Christie ending) but it was really rushed and I just wish it was drawn out a bit for the reader to enjoy it more.

But will this keep me from reading book four in the series… No, it will not. And I highly recommend that you give this series a read. ( )
  KimHeniadis | Jul 23, 2022 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Set in small-town Oregon, the latest in the witty, charming Witch Way Librarian series from bestselling and acclaimed author Angela M. Sanders features a spellbinding heroine, a clever cat familiar, a glamorous movie star--and of course, murder. The perfect read for fans of Bailey Cates, Adele Abbott, Juliet Blackwell, and all mystery lovers with a taste for the witchy. For a tiny town, picturesque Wilfred, Oregon, has everything, including an impressive library housed in a Victorian mansion, a touch of magic in new librarian and fledgling witch, Josie Way, a visiting movie star--and a curious tendency toward murder...   Josie and all of Wilfred are buzzing with excitement. A-list movie star Daphne Morris has chosen to interview Roz, assistant librarian and novelist, for her book club. But when the glamorous actress quickly charms both Roz's long-time love and Sheriff Sam, the object of Josie's unrequited affection, Josie turns to the whispers from her beloved books for ideas on revising the plot. Yet soon there's another twist . . .   At a party to celebrate the interview, Daphne's personal chef is found dead in a scene that all too closely echoes one in Roz's novel. It's clear to Josie that someone's idea of a happy ending means framing her friend. She'll have to read between the lines with the help of the library's enchanted stacks, guidance from her magical grandmother's letters, and her cat familiar, Rodney, to solve this murder before someone decides to stage a deadly sequel . . .  

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.86)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 1
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 177,151,788 books! | Top bar: Always visible