HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel by Christina…
Loading...

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel (edition 2022)

by Christina Soontornvat (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
19111145,309 (4.18)None
Juvenile Nonfiction. Sociology. Sports & Recreations. HTML:

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

"A captivating middle-grade gem." - The New York Times Book Review

?? "Funny, relatable, and genuine." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

?? "Captures every nuanced emotion." - School Library Journal, starred review

?? "Genuinely nail-biting." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

?? "Cringe-worthy in the best possible way...inspiring and insightful." - Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Delightfully expressive...a standout." - Booklist

When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and her best friend, Megan, literally jump at the chance to join the squad. As two of the only kids of color in the school, they have always yearned to fit in-and the middle school cheerleaders are popular and accepted by everyone. But will the girls survive the terrifying tryouts, with their whole grade watching? And will their friendship withstand the pressures of competition?

Hilarious and highly relatable, The Tryout by two-time Newbery Honoree Christina Soontornvat and shining new talent Joanna Cacao will make you laugh, cry, and… (more)

Member:Alorasays
Title:The Tryout: A Graphic Novel
Authors:Christina Soontornvat (Author)
Info:Graphix (2022), 272 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:None

Work Information

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel by Christina Soontornvat

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
Christina is starting middle school. She and her bestie decide that the way to really fit in is to become cheerleaders. They make the cut to the performance for the whole 7th grade and from there students vote on the top 8. Christina has a loving family, strong community, as a biracial Thai and white kid she faces racial harassment by some of her classmates but many other people are super supportive.
A story of friendship, family, getting out of your comfort zone, and finding your niche. ( )
  ewyatt | May 10, 2024 |
Enjoyed this new graphic novel by award winning Christina Soontornvat. Based on her own experiences in middle school, this is a relatable graphic novel about courage and competition, friendship and belonging, and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. Set in Texas in the 1980s, Christina navigates middle school and tries to fit in with her predominantly white peers by trying out for the middle school cheerleading squad. Thought illustrations by Joanna Cacao are great -- looking forward to see what the author and illustrators do next. Good recommendation for readers who enjoyed New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.
( )
  AnnesLibrary | Jan 28, 2024 |
Representation: Asian main character
Trigger warnings: Racism, bullying
Score: Seven points out of ten.
This review can also be found on The StoryGraph.

This was a good graphic novel, I usually don't expect graphic novels to be that good, but this exceeded my expectations. The art was good, the story was engaging, the characters were well made and their struggles were relatable, however, the ending was kind of bittersweet, because the main character didn't make the tryouts, but she chose a different thing instead and she was satisfied. Definitely recommended if you want an easy read about relatable struggles in school. I just hope that the other graphic novels I want, such as Frizzy, Play Like a Girl, Isla to Island, Freestyle, and especially [b:Swim Team|58842729|Swim Team|Johnnie Christmas|https://i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/books/1639377352l/58842729._SY75_.jpg|92685857], are as good as this one.

Update: I can't judge the two books I mentioned after the first one but I can say for sure that this book is better the last two books I mentioned. The first one rivals this. ( )
  Law_Books600 | Nov 3, 2023 |
Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale will love this graphic novel memoir (of sorts) from Christina Soontornvat. I loved the friendship angle and how this graphic novel emphasizes friends can change and yet still remain friends. (Too many novels seem to be about drifting apart.)

The racial message of Thai immigration and finding a place to belong was what I enjoyed most about The Tryout. There are a few slurs and bullying present but the message is uplifting. Reading about Christina finding her voice will inspire many! ( )
  msgabbythelibrarian | Jun 11, 2023 |
What a flipping great book -- from Christina's nerdy interests to her burgeoning love for cheerleading, the story is just full of heart. I loved learning about her family's story and restaurant. I think it sucks to grow up mixed race in Texas, but I'm impressed that she can tell that story without losing sight of the good parts, too. Great humor, great calling-out-of-bs, great growth and great friendships in the background cheering her on. ( )
  jennybeast | Jun 5, 2023 |
Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Juvenile Nonfiction. Sociology. Sports & Recreations. HTML:

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

"A captivating middle-grade gem." - The New York Times Book Review

?? "Funny, relatable, and genuine." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

?? "Captures every nuanced emotion." - School Library Journal, starred review

?? "Genuinely nail-biting." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

?? "Cringe-worthy in the best possible way...inspiring and insightful." - Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Delightfully expressive...a standout." - Booklist

When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and her best friend, Megan, literally jump at the chance to join the squad. As two of the only kids of color in the school, they have always yearned to fit in-and the middle school cheerleaders are popular and accepted by everyone. But will the girls survive the terrifying tryouts, with their whole grade watching? And will their friendship withstand the pressures of competition?

Hilarious and highly relatable, The Tryout by two-time Newbery Honoree Christina Soontornvat and shining new talent Joanna Cacao will make you laugh, cry, and

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.18)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 13
4.5 3
5 6

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,695,495 books! | Top bar: Always visible