HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Last Dollar Princess: A Young Heiress's…
Loading...

The Last Dollar Princess: A Young Heiress's Quest for Independence in… (edition 2022)

by Linda Bennett Pennell (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1321,347,703 (3.5)None
It must be said. Scandal follows her family like an ever-faithful hound. No matter how hard they kick it away, it comes slinking around time-after-time. Although her relatives are obsessed with social position and the opinions of others, heiress India Elisabeth Petra De Vries Ledbetter is determined to live life by her own terms, family expectations and society's demands be damned. Reared away from the social whirl of Gilded Age New York, India would prefer a life of philanthropy in her native Appalachia, but Mother and Grandmama have far grander plans. They believe Mrs. Astor's old 400 are ready to overlook the past and that an advantageous marriage will cement their place in society once more. In fact, they have already selected the prospective bridegroom. The only problem? No one consulted India. With captivating insights into the human spirit and heart, The Last Dollar Princess leads us on a riveting quest for self-determination through the most elegant and glamorous settings of the early 20th century. Perfect for fans of Marie Benedict, Daisy Goodwin, and Julian Fellows, this sweeping work of historical fiction will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.… (more)
Member:HarperHunter
Title:The Last Dollar Princess: A Young Heiress's Quest for Independence in Gilded Age America and George V's Coronation Year England
Authors:Linda Bennett Pennell (Author)
Info:Black Rose Writing (2022), 366 pages
Collections:Ebooks
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

The Last Dollar Princess by Linda Bennett Pennell

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
"The Last Dollar Princess" by Linda Bennett Pennell was an unexpected delight. Set at a time when marriages within the uppercrust were crafted upon making the best match -- the societal standing brought by the male and the "dollars" brought into a family desperately in need of a cash infusion. This historical novel also brushes upon the rise of women throwing off the traditional expectations and fighting for the freedom of their own voice. India and Charlie are caught in the machinations of family striving to bring them together -- for her an English title, for him access into India's fortunes desperately needed for his English estate. While the story could have become bogged down with extraneous jaunts down the history lane or caught up with subplots, Pennell has offered a tale that moves quickly and sure is to have the reader cheering on India and Charlie by end! I received my copy of this book through LibraryThing's Early Reviewer program. ( )
  Dawn1361 | Sep 25, 2022 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Early Reviewer Book. Somewhat implausible coming of age story. She needs a husband; he needs money to fix his castle and their families are eager to match make. Plot is a bit strained; characters are well formed, and pacing is good. If you like romance in a boy meets girl way, you will probably like this. ( )
  perennialreader | Sep 23, 2022 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

It must be said. Scandal follows her family like an ever-faithful hound. No matter how hard they kick it away, it comes slinking around time-after-time. Although her relatives are obsessed with social position and the opinions of others, heiress India Elisabeth Petra De Vries Ledbetter is determined to live life by her own terms, family expectations and society's demands be damned. Reared away from the social whirl of Gilded Age New York, India would prefer a life of philanthropy in her native Appalachia, but Mother and Grandmama have far grander plans. They believe Mrs. Astor's old 400 are ready to overlook the past and that an advantageous marriage will cement their place in society once more. In fact, they have already selected the prospective bridegroom. The only problem? No one consulted India. With captivating insights into the human spirit and heart, The Last Dollar Princess leads us on a riveting quest for self-determination through the most elegant and glamorous settings of the early 20th century. Perfect for fans of Marie Benedict, Daisy Goodwin, and Julian Fellows, this sweeping work of historical fiction will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Linda Bennett Pennell's book The Last Dollar Princess was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5 2
4
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 177,146,369 books! | Top bar: Always visible