HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Collected Regrets of Clover: A Novel by…
Loading...

The Collected Regrets of Clover: A Novel (edition 2023)

by Mikki Brammer (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3511970,771 (4.13)2
Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"This weird, lovely and sweetly satisfying novel [is] engaging and accessible...Clover's emergence from a shuttered life is moving enough to elicit tears, and Brammer's take on death and grieving is profound enough to feel genuinely instructional." ????The New York Times Book Review

What's the point of giving someone a beautiful death if you can't give yourself a beautiful life?

From the day she watched her kindergarten teacher drop dead during a dramatic telling of Peter Rabbit, Clover Brooks has felt a stronger connection with the dying than she has with the living. After the beloved grandfather who raised her dies alone while she is traveling, Clover becomes a death doula in New York City, dedicating her life to ushering people peacefully through their end-of-life process.
Clover spends so much time with the dying that she has no life of her own, until the final wishes of a feisty old woman send Clover on a trip across the country to uncover a forgotten love story????and perhaps, her own happy ending. As she finds herself struggling to navigate the uncharted roads of romance and friendship, Clover is forced to examine what she really wants, and whether she'll have the courage to go after it.
Probing, clever, and hopeful, The Collected Regrets of Clover is perfect for readers of The Midnight Library and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as it turns the normally taboo subject of death into a reason to celebrat
… (more)

Member:rmarcin
Title:The Collected Regrets of Clover: A Novel
Authors:Mikki Brammer (Author)
Info:St. Martin's Press (2023), 320 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:****
Tags:None

Work Information

The Collected Regrets of Clover by Mikki Brammer

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
This is a story about a young woman who is a death doula. Clover helps people transition from this life into death, preparing them. When they voice their regrets, she collects them in a series of journals, and later acts on them, to alleviate the regret from those who are died.
Sebastian hires Clover to care for his ailing grandmother. Originally, she is unable to tell Claudia the reason she is visiting, and instead Clover asks Claudia about her life as a photojournalist. When Clover shows Claudia and old picture of Hugo, Claudia reveals her regret-which was not marrying Hugo. Clover hopes to find Hugo before Claudia dies, to give them a chance to connect 60 years later.
So touching and beautiful. ( )
  rmarcin | Nov 20, 2023 |
Sweet story. Nothing memorable but I enjoyed it. A little predictable in a happy way. All tied up neatly in the end. Good not great. ( )
  MsTera | Oct 10, 2023 |
Amazing book about death and relationships. Well worth the read. ( )
  shazjhb | Oct 8, 2023 |
Clover is a Death Doula in New York City. A friend thought this book would be depressing. However, I found this book to be very thought provoking. Clover is perhaps different and could be viewed as quirky yet Clover has a unique and beautiful gift that connects her to others. Her insight allows time not to be wasted, avoided or spent alone. My second death doula read. I found this one to be special and insightful. ( )
  BONS | Sep 22, 2023 |
“But the secret to a beautiful death is to live a beautiful life.”

Though its subject is confronting, The Collected Regrets of Clover is a life affirming debut from Mikki Brammer.

Thirty-six-year-old Clover Brooks works as a death doula in New York City, a vocation inspired in part by being absent when the grandfather who raised her passed away. It is her privilege, she feels, to support people during the last precious weeks, days, or hours of their lives, but in surrounding herself with death, Clover has forgotten how to live.

Clover is a sympathetic character who lives quietly in the rent controlled apartment she grew up in with only her rescue pets for company. Her history of loss, including both her parents at six years old and her grandfather, has left her with unresolved grief that has affected her ability to make secure social connections. Given the nature of her job, Clover’s relationships are generally fleeting, though she visits death cafe’s (gatherings for people to discuss death and dying) when loneliness threatens to overwhelm her. It’s at one of these meetings that she meets Sebastian who hires her to support his beloved grandmother, Claudia who has end stage pancreatic cancer.

Claudia is a wonderful character, at 91 years of age she is a tough, no nonsense type of woman, who has lived a full life, but is not without her regrets. Though Clover has always kept a professional distance between herself and her clients, she and Claudia quickly develop a close bond, and whereas in the past Clover has simply recorded the last words of her clients in one of three notebooks titled Regrets to be examined later, this time she decides to play an active role in resolving one. It is in attempting to track down the source of Claudia’s biggest regret that Clover is challenged to finally face her own.

In balance with the thought-provoking exploration of the themes of loneliness, regret, death and grief, Brammer also examines compassion, grace, friendship, and love. Though occasionally maudlin The Collected Regrets of Clover is never mawkish, instead it’s ultimately inspiring and uplifting. I also found it informative, fascinated by the unfamiliar role of a death doula and the services they can provide.

A captivating and stirring novel, The Collected Regrets of Clover is a reminder that life is too short to not take chances with your heart. ( )
  shelleyraec | Sep 8, 2023 |
Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

Notable Lists

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"This weird, lovely and sweetly satisfying novel [is] engaging and accessible...Clover's emergence from a shuttered life is moving enough to elicit tears, and Brammer's take on death and grieving is profound enough to feel genuinely instructional." ????The New York Times Book Review

What's the point of giving someone a beautiful death if you can't give yourself a beautiful life?

From the day she watched her kindergarten teacher drop dead during a dramatic telling of Peter Rabbit, Clover Brooks has felt a stronger connection with the dying than she has with the living. After the beloved grandfather who raised her dies alone while she is traveling, Clover becomes a death doula in New York City, dedicating her life to ushering people peacefully through their end-of-life process.
Clover spends so much time with the dying that she has no life of her own, until the final wishes of a feisty old woman send Clover on a trip across the country to uncover a forgotten love story????and perhaps, her own happy ending. As she finds herself struggling to navigate the uncharted roads of romance and friendship, Clover is forced to examine what she really wants, and whether she'll have the courage to go after it.
Probing, clever, and hopeful, The Collected Regrets of Clover is perfect for readers of The Midnight Library and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as it turns the normally taboo subject of death into a reason to celebrat

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.13)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 6
3.5 3
4 19
4.5 9
5 15

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 197,635,656 books! | Top bar: Always visible