HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Their Angel's Cry

by Shannon Hollinger

Series: Chief Maggie Riley (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
712,383,427 (4.5)None
The little dog trembles and whimpers, but refuses to move. Maggie reaches further into the undergrowth, trying to tempt it out. But as she moves closer, she sees something that stops her heart-a tiny, shivering baby, wrapped in a thin, pink blanket, saved only by its loyal protector. There's a ferocious storm heading toward the isolated town of Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley gets the call every cop dreads. Three bodies have been found on Rattlesnake Mountain, half a day's hike from civilization. And when Maggie finally reaches the site, exhausted and freezing, she discovers something even more terrifying-a tiny baby girl, kept alive only by the warmth of a small dog who refuses to leave her side. As Maggie races the baby to safety, she wonders, why on earth the family risked hiking the mountain in this weather? Who were they and who could possibly have killed them? A former detective, Maggie may be an experienced investigator, but she's still an unwelcome newcomer. Battling town prejudice, her fears for the orphaned baby, and the increasingly dangerous weather, Maggie soon discovers the case is far more complicated than she could have imagined. The family is not who they seemed. The mother has never had a baby, there's no link between them at all. So whose baby is it, and where are they now? With Coyote Cove cut off by the storm, Maggie knows that wherever the killer is, they won't be able to leave. Stuck in town with a murderer on the loose, Maggie must race to find them before anyone else gets hurt. But she hasn't counted on the killer taking matters into their own hands, and going after Maggie first... An utterly compelling and addictive crime thriller, perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, D.K. Hood and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow..."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Wow, what a thrilling tale full of twists... Addictive... Just amazing." @renitadsilva, ?????… (more)

No tags

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Their Angel’s Cry by Shannon Hollinger
Chief Maggie Riley #2

Gripping, dark, and gritty ~ compelled to continue reading into the wee hours of the morning!

What I liked:
* * Chief Maggie Riley: brilliant, capable, skilled detective, listens to her gut instincts, moved to Coyote Cove, Maine after a personal loss, engaged to Steve, upholds the law, working solo with Sue as her assistant after losing her lieutenant in the previous book, is pushed physically and mentally in this book, have a feeling she has an agenda related to the secrets she is keeping that will play out in this series
* Steve Winters: financial wiz who lost his fire and moved to the country, loves his rather difficult if loving mother, understands and loves Maggie, has secrets that will be exposed in time-I think, there for those he loves
* The plot, pacing, setting, and writing
* Dr. Erika Ricky: medical examiner, cat owner, steps out of her comfort zone in this book and grows a lot, someone I hope to see more of
* Sue: Maggie’s assistant, a child guardian and qualified to step in when children are at risk, capable, caring, good friend
* The various characters that might be the killer of the three people found on the mountain – and finding out which one actually did the deed ~ also enjoyed finding out what the others were really up to
* Laurel: protective canine that heroically saved a baby
* Looking forward to what will happen in book three

What I didn’t like:
* Who and what I was meant not to like
* The evilness of some of the amoral criminals in this story and the harm they did to more than one person

Did I enjoy this book? Yes
Would I read more in this series? Yes

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review.

5 Stars ( )
  CathyGeha | Aug 22, 2023 |
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

The little dog trembles and whimpers, but refuses to move. Maggie reaches further into the undergrowth, trying to tempt it out. But as she moves closer, she sees something that stops her heart-a tiny, shivering baby, wrapped in a thin, pink blanket, saved only by its loyal protector. There's a ferocious storm heading toward the isolated town of Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley gets the call every cop dreads. Three bodies have been found on Rattlesnake Mountain, half a day's hike from civilization. And when Maggie finally reaches the site, exhausted and freezing, she discovers something even more terrifying-a tiny baby girl, kept alive only by the warmth of a small dog who refuses to leave her side. As Maggie races the baby to safety, she wonders, why on earth the family risked hiking the mountain in this weather? Who were they and who could possibly have killed them? A former detective, Maggie may be an experienced investigator, but she's still an unwelcome newcomer. Battling town prejudice, her fears for the orphaned baby, and the increasingly dangerous weather, Maggie soon discovers the case is far more complicated than she could have imagined. The family is not who they seemed. The mother has never had a baby, there's no link between them at all. So whose baby is it, and where are they now? With Coyote Cove cut off by the storm, Maggie knows that wherever the killer is, they won't be able to leave. Stuck in town with a murderer on the loose, Maggie must race to find them before anyone else gets hurt. But she hasn't counted on the killer taking matters into their own hands, and going after Maggie first... An utterly compelling and addictive crime thriller, perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, D.K. Hood and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow..."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Wow, what a thrilling tale full of twists... Addictive... Just amazing." @renitadsilva, ?????

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Author

Shannon Hollinger is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Genres

No genres

Rating

Average: (4.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 1

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 206,383,169 books! | Top bar: Always visible