HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Shadow Girl

by Shannon Hollinger

Series: Chief Maggie Riley (3)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
314,138,715 (5)None
Ever since I tried to escape, he's been keeping me in the dark. My bones ache with the cold. The longer I sit, trapped alone with just my thoughts, the more I worry... What if this is it? What if I never get to leave? The sun is rising on another cold winter's day in Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley finds an unmarked envelope on the steps of the police station. Inside is a photo of a teenage girl, bound and bruised. Maggie's heart constricts at the terror in her tear-filled eyes. Who is she? What has happened to her? Who would have left this photo, but done nothing else to help? Maggie moved to Coyote Cove for a quieter life after her beloved young brother went missing five years ago. And this case feels as personal as anything she's worked on since then. With no one reporting the girl missing, seemingly unloved and forgotten, Maggie vows to rescue her, and bring whoever hurt her to justice. As Maggie mines the photograph for clues to hunt down the girl and her captor, her search takes her deep into the seedy, dangerous underbelly of the secretive logging camps. Hidden away in the woods, a law unto themselves, Maggie is in unchartered-and deadly-territory. Then she finds the body of a girl who was said to have run away years ago, one with ties of her own to the loggers. And Maggie knows she's on the right track. But as her search for the truth intensifies, Maggie's own safety is threatened. Can she save an innocent girl's life and get out alive herself, or could this be the one investigation she won't survive...? A dark and totally gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of D.K. Hood, Melinda Leigh and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars. Highly recommend." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Jaw-dropping... kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat... excellent!" Bookishlaurenh, ???? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow....."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic. I loved the darkness and mystery... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ?????… (more)

No tags

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

The Shadow Girl by Shannon Hollinger
Chief Maggie Riley #3

Dark, gritty, and compelling ~ Could not put this book down!

What I liked:
* Chief Maggie Riley: brilliant, capable, skilled detective, listens to her gut instincts, moved to Coyote Cove, Maine after a personal loss and going rogue at work, engaged to Steve, upholds the law, works with minimal staff, has a difficult relationship with her parents, brother disappeared when he was young, has a missing girl to find in this series while still dealing with a population that is less than accepting
* Steve Winters: Maggie’s fiancé, financial wiz who lost his fire and moved to the country, understands and loves Maggie, protective, loving, caring, loves his mother and sister though they are not always easy, has secrets from the past that are beginning to emerge – do hope he can figure out what to do about Wesley,
* Kal Kishore: New lieutenant hired by Maggie at the end of the last book, wants a change of scene, has dealt with racial bigotry, broke up with his fiancé before moving to Coyote Cove…seems there is a secret that may come out later, strong, reliable, intelligent, does what it takes, gets the job done, want to know more about him
* Sue: Maggie’s assistant at work, wears interesting clothes to work, a bit of a mother-hen
* The mysteries to be solved: a deceased “runaway” teen that has been gone a couple of years, an abused teen, and a potentially abducted teen to be found – the killer(s) need to be found
* The issues related to Maggie’s brother and parents, Steve’s old “friend” that shows up in this book – imagine he will have a part in the next, wondering how the issue of Maggie’s brother will be resolved, and how the town is beginning to come around and accept the Chief and her team
* The setting, plot, pacing, and writing that was emotive, visceral, visual, immersive, emotive, and at times humorous
* How all the pieces fit together seamlessly
* That it made me think and feel and care and consider the “what-ifs”
* Wondering what will happen next

What I didn’t like:
* Who and what I was meant not to like
* Thinking about predators and the harm they do
* Being so upset by the adults who kept glossing over and blaming the teens rather than believing them

Did I enjoy this book? Yes
Would I read more in this series? Definitely

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review.

5 Stars ( )
  CathyGeha | Oct 11, 2023 |
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Ever since I tried to escape, he's been keeping me in the dark. My bones ache with the cold. The longer I sit, trapped alone with just my thoughts, the more I worry... What if this is it? What if I never get to leave? The sun is rising on another cold winter's day in Coyote Cove when Chief Maggie Riley finds an unmarked envelope on the steps of the police station. Inside is a photo of a teenage girl, bound and bruised. Maggie's heart constricts at the terror in her tear-filled eyes. Who is she? What has happened to her? Who would have left this photo, but done nothing else to help? Maggie moved to Coyote Cove for a quieter life after her beloved young brother went missing five years ago. And this case feels as personal as anything she's worked on since then. With no one reporting the girl missing, seemingly unloved and forgotten, Maggie vows to rescue her, and bring whoever hurt her to justice. As Maggie mines the photograph for clues to hunt down the girl and her captor, her search takes her deep into the seedy, dangerous underbelly of the secretive logging camps. Hidden away in the woods, a law unto themselves, Maggie is in unchartered-and deadly-territory. Then she finds the body of a girl who was said to have run away years ago, one with ties of her own to the loggers. And Maggie knows she's on the right track. But as her search for the truth intensifies, Maggie's own safety is threatened. Can she save an innocent girl's life and get out alive herself, or could this be the one investigation she won't survive...? A dark and totally gripping crime thriller, perfect for fans of D.K. Hood, Melinda Leigh and Lisa Regan. Readers love Shannon Hollinger: "LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!... OMG!!!!... MIND BLOWN... Wow!!!... Had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end... The hair on my arms was standing on end and my heart was pounding... Kept me on the edge of my seat throughout... I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!!... Absolutely hooked!! I LOVED it." bookworm86, ????? "Wow! I totally loved this book! Such a fabulous read!... kept me gripped from beginning to end... Can't give this enough big stars. Highly recommend." Goodreads reviewer, ????? "Jaw-dropping... kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat... excellent!" Bookishlaurenh, ???? "Shannon Hollinger took me on a TRIP - wow... I thought I had this figured out, but boy was I wrong... I was turning pages like a mad lady... I did NOT expect that ending at ALL... excellent... I was staring at my wall thinking "wow....."" Goodreads reviewer, ???? "HOLY BUCKETS... excellent... intense... twists and turns will give you whiplash... fantastic. I loved the darkness and mystery... The way the pieces fell into place was so insane I couldn't turn the pages fast enough... a scary, twisted, dark thrill ride from start to finish!" Goodreads reviewer, ?????

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Author

Shannon Hollinger is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Genres

No genres

Rating

Average: (5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 205,994,161 books! | Top bar: Always visible