HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

STORM: The Infinity Code by Emma Young
Loading...

STORM: The Infinity Code

by Emma Young

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1067171,827 (3.88)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
Will’s parents are gone – following his father’s death, his mother sent Will to a friend in London while she goes to her mother’s in Russia to grieve and recover. The only thing that comforts Will as he grieves is working on his inventions and gadgets; gadgets like Rapid Ascent which combines a spear gun, a rope, a harness, and precise engineering to lift a human up the side of a building in mere moments. Soon Will’s caught the attention of three other overachieving teens: Gaia, Andrew and Caspian. Gaia’s a chemical genius who likes to blow things up and Caspian’s specialty is astrophysics. Andrew has money, brains, and ambition, but most of all he has the idea: He wants them to be a team – a force for good in the world – kids who can make a difference on a global level. At first all Will wants is to be left alone, but then Caspian disappears and it becomes clear that something major is afoot, something along the lines of an epically deadly weapon. The trail leads to Russia which Will thinks is a fortunate coincidence that will allow him to reunite with his mother, but Will’s about to learn that there’s no such thing as coincidence.
The STORM series is perfect for fans of Alex Rider and other high tech spy novels, but has the added bonus that every gadget used in the books has a basis in today’s science. Don’t forget to check out the Author’s Note at the back and the “excerpt” from Will’s notebook.

I enjoyed this, but as seems to be usual for me, I'd like to read the second book to see if it's a little smoother now that all the world setup has been done and all the characters have been introduced. ( )
  JenJ. | Mar 31, 2013 |
Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

Will Knight never intended to get mixed up in international crime and political intrigue.

When he first met Gaia, gifted chemistry student, and Andrew, child millionaire and software genius, and heard about their idea to start an organization named STORM which would help in desperate situations around the world, he declared them crazy and walked away. But he can't ignore Gaia when she tells him about a magnetic storm that's about to hit Earth. The group's efforts allow a plane that would otherwise have crashed to safely land, and Will discovers that saving lives makes him feel more alive than anything has since his father's death a few months ago.

Before long, STORM faces a new, far greater challenge. A brilliant scientist has been kidnapped, and his son, Andrew's friend, Caspian, has created an incredible weapon to fulfill the kidnappers' demands. When Will finds out, he knows they must act or risk global tragedy. He and his friends embark on a journey across the continent to stop Caspian and find out who is behind the scheme. Along the way, Will must face truths he'd rather not have known, and all three must learn to work together if they--and the planet--are going to survive.

STORM: THE INFINITY CODE is an exciting, fast-paced adventure that's sure to appeal to fans of spy stories and mysteries. The three main characters are enjoyable companions along the way, heroic but still human, doing as much as three fourteen-year-old teens can. There are many surprises along the way, and while the ending is satisfying, it's far from pat.

From the detailed explanations of Will's inventions to the stark descriptions of the dangers the group encounters, the book is more realism than fantasy, and is all the stronger for it. Highly recommended for readers who like their adventures grounded in the real world. ( )
  GeniusJen | Oct 11, 2009 |
A Caspian wanted to create a balck hole to destroy a space police station. I liked the theory that you could use stripped down gold ions to create a black hole. I am very interested in black holes. ( )
  thelexingtonreader | Oct 4, 2009 |
interesting but confusing and boring at parts. at times it told nothing to do with the plot ( )
  hamelinn | Nov 6, 2008 |
Four teenaged geniuses come together to form "STORM" in the hopes that their brilliant minds can help make a difference in the world. Though reluctant at first, their first mission quickly leads to a second mission - one where they must find out why their 4th member has betrayed them to create an extraordinary weapon. Starts out promising, but then the story slows way down and it takes some time before it picks up again. Filled with double crossings and "surprises" that are rather predictable. ( )
  chibimajo | Oct 6, 2008 |
Showing 1-5 of 7 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0803732651, Hardcover)

STORM is a gadget-packed, high-adrenaline adventure?a middlegrade spy novel sure to leave readers white-knuckled and breathless. It?s also the name of the ambitious organization formed by the story?s three brainiac kids: Will, the loner, inventive genius, and creator of cutting-edge gadgets. Andrew, the software whiz-kid, millionaire, and fashion disaster. Gaia, the brilliant and mysterious teen chemist, fluent in French, Italian, Mandarin, and blowing stuff up. Will first scoffs at STORM?s grand plans to combat global strife. But when the group uncovers a plot to create a deadly revolutionary weapon, the three race from England to Russia, determined not only to find and dismantle the weapon, but to confront the psychopathic scientist behind it all.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:01:44 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

In London, the teenaged geniuses of STORM, a secret organization dedicated to eliminating the world's misery through science and technology, uncover plans for a deadly weapon and race to find and dismantle it, then confront the corrupt scientist behind the scheme.… (more)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 6
3.5 1
4 10
4.5
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,369,049 books! | Top bar: Always visible