HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Happy Holidays! The 12 Days of LT scavenger hunt is going on. Can you solve the clues?
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Lieutenant Fury by G.S. Beard
Loading...

Lieutenant Fury

by G.S. Beard

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
201735,097 (3.9)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Good story, excellent nautical details and a realistic setting-the Siege of Toulon. John Fury, acting lieutenant , finds himself landing troops, commanding a fort with soldiers and rescuing a fair maiden, French, of course. Moves along and is quite an enjoyable read. ( )
  jamespurcell | Jul 20, 2014 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0099499576, Paperback)

Lieutenant Fury is an action-packed sea-faring novel for fans of Hornblower, Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe and Alan Mallinson’s Matthew Hervey novels.

1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. A bloody sea battle ensues resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury. A battered Amazon puts into Gibraltar for repairs and there Fury has his promotion confirmed by Vice Admiral Lord Hood, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet. He will be the fifth lieutenant on the 74 gun man-of-war Fortitude.

A series of unexpected events sees Fury temporarily transferred away from Fortitude, first to a brig, then to a gun ship and finally to defend a prominent fort ashore as the Republican armies, inspired by a young artillery officer by the name of Napoleon Bonaparte, establish a brutal siege of the port.

It is soon clear that Britain and her allies are going to be hard pressed to hold onto their prize. But Fury has more to lose than most. In the maelstrom of the siege he has met and fallen in love with a pretty French girl, Sophie Gourrier. Somehow, as the defence crumbles, he must rescue his men and Sophie from the doomed city.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:23:01 -0400)

1793. HMS Amazon is returning from an arduous tour of duty in the Indian Ocean when she encounters a French frigate in the Atlantic. A bloody sea battle ensues, resulting in both triumph and personal tragedy for Acting Lieutenant John Fury.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.9)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,820,035 books! | Top bar: Always visible