HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Sarah, Plain and Tall: A Newbery Award…
Loading...

Sarah, Plain and Tall: A Newbery Award Winner (Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga Book 1) (original 1985; edition 2013)

by Patricia MacLachlan (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
11,187288616 (3.81)262
When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay.
Member:orangeturtle
Title:Sarah, Plain and Tall: A Newbery Award Winner (Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga Book 1)
Authors:Patricia MacLachlan (Author)
Info:HarperCollins (2013), Edition: Reprint, 76 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan (1985)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 262 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 287 (next | show all)
{My Thoughts} – Jacob is the father to Anna and Caleb. They have been doing their best to make ends meet around their property without the help of a woman. But Jacob has decided that he is lonely and he does want the help of a woman so he puts an add in the paper asking for a wife. It doesn’t take long for him to get a reply from a lady named Sarah. Sarah is not your typical woman though. She likes to do things for herself and she has lots of beliefs in independence. So once she gets her bearings she asks Jacob to teach her how to plow the fields, how to drive the wagon and how to ride a horse. She picks it all up very quickly.

All of Sarah’s independence starts to worry Anna and Caleb though. They think she wants to learn all this stuff so that she can leave them and not come back. They think that she misses her home in Maine and isn’t interested in being their dad’s new wife and their new mother. Does Sarah want to go back home? Does she want to be married? Does she want to be stuck in a land far from everything she’s familiar with? Does she want to become a mother to two children that are quickly growing up? I suppose you will need to read the book to find out.

My daughter had brought this book home, because she needed to read it for her AR program at school. I decided to read it with her, and I must say it is a nice little story. I may need to track down the other four books to this series sometime in the future.

If you like books similar to that of the Little House on the Prairie I am quite certain you will enjoy this book as well. ( )
  Zapkode | Jun 1, 2024 |
Independent Reading Level: Grades 3-5
1986 Newbery Medal, the 1986 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and the 1986 Golden Kite Award.
  LisaCook14 | Dec 7, 2023 |
My goodness. I really liked this children's historical fiction book as a child. I'm pleased to find that my appreciation for this story of family has increased.

It's simple but not simplistic. Gentle but not fluffy. The characters' various emotions, while handled with a light touch, are real—from the youngsters to the adults. There's so much said in just a few words, and I now hear more in the story. The benefit of my adult ears added to the memory of my childhood hearing.

Back then, I enjoyed the sequel, Skylark, even more. I'm looking forward to revisiting that one too. Hopefully soon. ( )
  NadineC.Keels | Nov 17, 2023 |
Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.
  PlumfieldCH | Sep 21, 2023 |
Sarah, arriving from the seashores of Maine, contrasted with an isolated mid-western farm, makes a great story. Despite the hardships portrayed, I found the story comforting when I was younger and I still do. The book is well deserving of the Newbery Medal, among other literary accolades it has received. The TV mini-series starring Glenn Close and Christopher Walken is equally good, which is saying a lot since I generally avoid watching the Hallmark channel, especially the saccharin sweet holiday movies. (My apologies to any fans of the channel!)

Rating: 5 stars
Original date of publication: 1985 ( )
  Ann_R | Aug 7, 2023 |
Showing 1-5 of 287 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
MacLachlan, Patriciaprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Amo, Fuencisla DelIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Blake, QuentinIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Bliss, HarryCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Close, GlennNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Fogler, ConstanceDesignersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Julian-Ottie, VanessaIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Krutz-Arnold, CorneliaÜbersetzersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Lynch, P.J.Illustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Mönster, JubIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sansigre, MartaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sewall, MarciaCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Todd, CamilleTraductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Vidal, Marta SansigreTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

Is contained in

Has the adaptation

Has as a commentary on the text

Has as a student's study guide

Has as a teacher's guide

Awards

Notable Lists

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
For old friends, dear friends--
DICK AND WENDY PUFF,
ALLISON AND DEREK
First words
"Did Mama sing every day?" asked Caleb.
Quotations
"And she named me Caleb," he went on, filling in the old familiar story.
"I would have named you Troublesome,"' I said, making Caleb smile.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
This entry is for the novel.
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
When their father invites a mail-order bride to come live with them in their prairie home, Caleb and Anna are captivated by their new mother and hope that she will stay.

Available online at The Internet Archive:
https://archive.org/search.php?query=t...
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5 3
1 15
1.5 2
2 85
2.5 10
3 268
3.5 36
4 384
4.5 25
5 307

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,916,931 books! | Top bar: Always visible