HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

L'ombra Del Vento by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Loading...

L'ombra Del Vento (original 2001; edition 2008)

by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
22,92289695 (4.11)1180
A boy named Daniel selects a novel from a library of rare books, enjoying it so much that he searches for the rest of the author's works, only to discover that someone is destroying every book the author has ever written. Barcelona, 1945-just after the war, a great world city lies in shadow, nursing its wounds, and a boy named Daniel awakes on his eleventh birthday to find that he can no longer remember his mother's face. To console his only child, Daniel's widowed father, an antiquarian book dealer, initiates him into the secret of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books, a library tended by Barcelona's guild of rare-book dealers as a repository for books forgotten by the world, waiting for someone who will care about them again. Daniel's father coaxes him to choose a volume from the spiraling labyrinth of shelves, one that, it is said, will have a special meaning for him. And Daniel so loves the novel he selects, The Shadow of the Wind by one Julian Carax, that he sets out to find the rest of Carax's work. To his shock, he discovers that someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book this author has written. In fact, he may have the last one in existence. Before Daniel knows it his seemingly innocent quest has opened a door into one of Barcelona's darkest secrets, an epic story of murder, magic, madness and doomed love. And before long he realizes that if he doesn't find out the truth about Julian Carax, he and those closest to him will suffer horribly. As with all astounding novels, The Shadow of the Wind sends the mind groping for comparisons- The Crimson Petal and the White? The novels of Arturo Peacute-Reverte? Of Victor Hugo? Love in the Time of Cholera ?-but in the end, as with all astounding novels, no comparison can suffice. As one leading Spanish reviewer wrote, ldquo. The originality of Ruiz Zafoacute's voice is bombproof and displays a diabolical talent. The Shadow of the Wind announces a phenomenon in Spanish literature. An uncannily absorbing historical mystery, a heart-piercing romance, and a moving homage to the mystical power of books, The Shadow of the Wind is a triumph of the storyteller's art.… (more)
Member:nyarly
Title:L'ombra Del Vento
Authors:Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Info:Mondadori (2008), Paperback, 439 pages
Collections:Your library, Libri letti
Rating:**
Tags:None

Work details

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (2001)

  1. 277
    The Angel's Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (phoenix7g, orange_epsilon)
    orange_epsilon: Prequel to The Shadow of the Wind set in Barcelona in the 1920s and 1930s. If you enjoyed the first one, you should give this one a try.
  2. 173
    The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield (rmjp518, starfishian, elizabeth.a.coates)
    elizabeth.a.coates: Both centre around books/literature, both are eloquently written, both have an element of mystery
  3. 206
    The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (robynlinden, GodOfTheAnthill)
    GodOfTheAnthill: Both mystery novels with a similar tone and atmosphere
  4. 91
    People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks (susiesharp, BookshelfMonstrosity)
  5. 80
    The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (guurtjesboekenkast)
  6. 70
    One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (derelicious)
  7. 50
    The Club Dumas by Arturo Pérez-Reverte (jhedlund, phoenix7g, Cecilturtle)
    phoenix7g: Mystery and books.
  8. 50
    The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers (bookmomo)
    bookmomo: If you want to read more (and better!) about the love of books and reading
  9. 40
    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: Although they have very different settings (1950s Spain in Shadow of the Wind and modern San Francisco in Mr. Penumbra's), these adventure stories, with underpinnings of romance, offer unique perspectives on the role of books and reading in our lives.… (more)
  10. 40
    The Little Book by Selden Edwards (Othemts)
  11. 30
    Stoner by John Williams (vivas)
    vivas: Libro excepcional,escrito de forma sencilla,culta y facil de entender
  12. 63
    Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (missmaddie)
  13. 42
    The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell (sweetiegherkin)
    sweetiegherkin: The mystery contained in a book is at the heart of both these thrillers.
  14. 31
    The Book on Fire by Keith Miller (infiniteletters)
  15. 20
    A Small Death in Lisbon by Robert Wilson (ehines)
  16. 10
    Night Film by Marisha Pessl (Sammiwithani)
  17. 10
    The City of Marvels by Eduardo Mendoza (caflores)
  18. 10
    Soldiers of Salamis by Javier Cercas (caflores)
  19. 10
    The Calligrapher's Secret by Rafik Schami (spiphany)
  20. 00
    The Magus by John Fowles (ainsleytewce)

(see all 32 recommendations)

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1180 mentions

English (765)  Dutch (29)  Spanish (26)  French (19)  Italian (18)  German (12)  Catalan (8)  Finnish (5)  Swedish (4)  Portuguese (Portugal) (4)  Danish (3)  Portuguese (2)  Arabic (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Hungarian (1)  Norwegian (1)  All languages (899)
Showing 1-5 of 765 (next | show all)
Absolutely loved it. One of my favorites by far. ( )
  Linyarai | Feb 16, 2020 |
I gave up on this about 10% in. It didn't seem to be going anywhere, and seemed pompous and self-important while not having a coherent storyline. ( )
  Gwendydd | Feb 16, 2020 |
A book is a mirror that offers us only what is inside us, that when we read, we do it with all our heart and mind. This is a quote from this fine book of Zafon. This is a book lover's read. All the plots and sub plots. The author draws you in and keeps you there. Mr. Zafon gives you all the pains, love, emotions, desires of a young man who never gives up. No matter what gets in the way his determination to discover is undaunted. This is book captivating, bewildering and lovely. I quote Stephen Kings comments on this book, " One gorgeous read". ( )
  Klatooo | Feb 8, 2020 |
Foof, I *really* liked this. It ain't perfect - there's a letter about 2/3 of the way in that, for me, answers the protagonist's burning questions a little too easily and interrupts the narrative flow... and there were a couple of times that characters say something like "WOW SURE IS GOTHIC UP IN HURR, HUH?" :D Otherwise a superbly enjoyable gothic omnomnomnom read. ( )
  Sonya_W | Feb 5, 2020 |
The story is complex and interesting - it holds your attention and makes you want to keep reading, but not much more than that. ( )
  AmirBaer | Jan 23, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 765 (next | show all)
It's lowdown and lazy, but here goes: ''Gabriel García Márquez meets Umberto Eco meets Jorge Luis Borges'' for a sprawling magic show, exasperatingly tricky and mostly wonderful, by the Spanish novelist Carlos Ruiz Zafón. The three illustrious meeters must surely have been drinking and they weave about a little, but steady remarkably as the pages go by.
 
Als een boekverkoper zijn tienjarige zoon meeneemt naar het paleisachtige, geheimzinnige Kerkhof der Vergeten Boeken, raakt Daniel betoverd door De schaduw van de wind. Hij neemt zich voor achter de identiteit van de schrijver Julian Carax te komen. Sterker nog: hij lijkt het leven van deze mysterieuze man te gaan leven. Tegen de achtergrond van het Barcelona van de Burgeroorlog en Franco ontrolt zich een fascinerend verhaal, of feitelijk vele verhalen over figuren die zich in de nabijheid van Carax ophielden én mensen rondom Daniel. De structuur van het verhaal is als een Russische pop, die eindeloos veel kleinere poppen in zich heeft verstopt. Carlos Ruiz Zafon (1964) heeft een fantasierijke, knappe roman geschreven vol avontuur, spanning, en liefde, die je in één adem uitleest. Zijn taalgebruik is prachtig, zijn belezenheid groot en de vertaling is vloeiend. Velen zullen van deze onderhoudende, intelligente roman genieten.
added by Liyanna | editBiblion, Fieke Nugteren
 
The Shadow of the Wind is a dream date for those who love books.... For fans of Jorge Luis Borges, Umberto Eco and other writers who craft twisting and turning plots with complex characterization, The Shadow of the Wind is not to be missed.
 

» Add other authors (34 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Carlos Ruiz Zafónprimary authorall editionscalculated
Davis, JonathanNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Geel, NellekeTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Graves, LuciaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Härkönen, TarjaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Schwaar, PeterTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sezzi, LiaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Joan Ramon Planas, who deserves better
First words
I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time.
Quotations
In the shop we buy and sell them, but in truth books have no owner.
He would have liked to know that somebody wanted to keep him alive, that someone remembered him. He used to say that we exist as long as somebody remembers us.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Carlos Ruiz Zafón's book The Shadow of the Wind was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.11)
0.5 17
1 106
1.5 28
2 266
2.5 91
3 919
3.5 387
4 2348
4.5 470
5 2845

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 142,511,252 books! | Top bar: Always visible