HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Guns, Drugs & Monsters: A Cal McDonald…
Loading...

Guns, Drugs & Monsters: A Cal McDonald Mystery Novel (edition 2004)

by Steve Niles (Author), Ashley Wood (Artist)

Series: Cal McDonald (Novel 2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
481399,250 (4.29)None
When the living, decapitated head of Cal McDonald's old buddy shows up on his doorstep, it launches the monster hunting private eye out of his familiar surroundings and into the nightmarish underworld of Los Angeles. There, Cal must face a savage pair of bestial killers and a bloodthirsty vampire as he strives to help his unfortunate friend. Little does he know that he's stepping into the grips of a demonic deal. Hard-boiled detective tales in the tradition of Chandler and Hammett take a wicked spin in the hands of Steve Niles who in "Guns, Drugs, and Monsters" adds ghosts, ghouls, and a nasty hangover to the classic genre.… (more)
Member:Htom_Sirveaux
Title:Guns, Drugs & Monsters: A Cal McDonald Mystery Novel
Authors:Steve Niles (Author)
Other authors:Ashley Wood (Artist)
Info:IDW Publishing (2004), Edition: 1st, 200 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Guns, Drugs, and Monsters by Steve Niles

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Cal McDonald is back and in an even bigger mess than he's ever been in before.

First, a former enemy breaks out of jail seeking revenge, then he finds out an old friend is in serious trouble when that friend's head shows up in the post! Of course, that's nothing compared to the bigger shock, when that same head opens its eyes and starts yelling at Cal for help!

With that, Cal's off to Los Angeles to find the sick freak that did this to his friend, but first he has to deal with werewolves, vampires, and the US Postal Service.

Things get weird, even for Cal's tastes.

What I love about Niles' Cal McDonald stories is how they perfectly blend the hard-boiled detective with the classic monster hunter figure. Cal is a hard fighting, hard drinking, hard living detective with something that draws the weird and supernatural to him. The drinking and the drugs are partly to help him deal with that, so he says. Add to that his closest friends are undead ghouls, and it starts to make sense.

Here we have the second Cal McDonald novel, a welcome follow-up to the first, and a nice step-up on the weirdness factor. Add to that Cal's change of scenery from DC to LA and we see our hero thrown for a loop as he faces all new problems, and some all too familiar. ( )
  regularguy5mb | Dec 4, 2015 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

When the living, decapitated head of Cal McDonald's old buddy shows up on his doorstep, it launches the monster hunting private eye out of his familiar surroundings and into the nightmarish underworld of Los Angeles. There, Cal must face a savage pair of bestial killers and a bloodthirsty vampire as he strives to help his unfortunate friend. Little does he know that he's stepping into the grips of a demonic deal. Hard-boiled detective tales in the tradition of Chandler and Hammett take a wicked spin in the hands of Steve Niles who in "Guns, Drugs, and Monsters" adds ghosts, ghouls, and a nasty hangover to the classic genre.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.29)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 3
4 5
4.5 1
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 150,535,894 books! | Top bar: Always visible