HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

One Second After (2009)

by William R. Forstchen

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: John Matherson (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,3851396,404 (3.62)78
Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon‚??the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)‚??which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end… (more)

  1. 00
    Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer (deslivres5)
    deslivres5: YA novel details family life from a teenagers perspective after a comet throws the moon off its axis.
  2. 00
    Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank (sturlington)
    sturlington: Alas, Babylon influenced One Second After.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 78 mentions

English (137)  German (1)  Swedish (1)  All languages (139)
Showing 1-5 of 137 (next | show all)
Geez, that darn ending... ( )
  atrillox | Nov 27, 2023 |
This book grabbed on and didn't let go until I closed it. If you think you are ready for whatever may come down the pike at you, reading this book will make you re-evaluate your preparedness.

The characters are well written, and the subject matter well researched.

I'm not sure if I will read the other 2 in the trilogy, mainly because I don't want to be disappointed. ( )
  Melline | Oct 24, 2023 |
Riveting. Spine-chilling and sobering tale of just how fragile our technology based civilization has become. ( )
  eric.maynard | May 21, 2023 |
So realistic, scary, hopeful, outstanding! Highly recommended! Have tissues handy! Everyone should read! I want the entire series.

FROM BARNES & NOBLE: A post-apocalyptic thriller of the after effects in the United States after a terrifying terrorist attack using electromagnetic pulse weapons.

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end. ( )
  Gmomaj | Dec 15, 2022 |
Absolutely fantastic book about what might happen in the wake of an EMP strike. Compelling, fast-paced, and heart-wrenching. ( )
  silva_44 | Dec 12, 2022 |
Showing 1-5 of 137 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
William R. Forstchenprimary authorall editionscalculated
Barrett, JoeNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Gingrich, NewtForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Sanders, William D.Afterwordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
For my daughter, Megan Marie Forstchen...and for those who protect her, that she may grow up in peace. And for my father, John Joseph Forstchen, who taught me what should truly be valued in life.
First words
John Matherson lifted the plastic bag off the counter.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Fiction. Science Fiction. Thriller. HTML:

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based upon a real weapon‚??the Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)‚??which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end

No library descriptions found.

Book description
William R. Forstchen tells a story that might be all too terrifyingly real. A story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war that sends our nation back to the Dark Ages.

A war lost because of a terrifying weapon, an Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP).

And it may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read. It has been discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a realistic look at EMPs and their awesome ability to send catastrophic shockwaves throughout the United States, literally within seconds. It is a weapon that The Wall Street Journal warned could shatter our nation. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail-Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future... and our end.

Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.62)
0.5 3
1 33
1.5 4
2 68
2.5 13
3 136
3.5 42
4 259
4.5 12
5 152

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 204,616,063 books! | Top bar: Always visible