HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Paper Machine

by Jacques Derrida

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1252189,582 (4.06)None
This book questions the book itself, archivization, machines for writing, and the mechanicity inherent in language, the media, and intellectuals. Derrida questions what takes place between the paper and the machine inscribing it. He examines what becomes of the archive when the world of paper is subsumed in new machines for virtualization, and whether there can be a virtual event or a virtual archive. Derrida continues his long-standing investigation of these issues, and ties them into the new themes that governed his teaching and thinking in the past few years: the secret, pardon, perjury, state sovereignty, hospitality, the university, animal rights, capital punishment, the question of what sort of mediatized world is replacing the print epoch, and the question of the "wholly other." Derrida is remarkable at making seemingly occasional pieces into part of a complexly interconnected trajectory of thought.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
Fascism begins when you insult an animal, including the animal in man.

This book proved abusive. Even at the zenith of my spirit, this would've been daunting territory. As it was, Paper Machine rendered a contused crawl. My spirit was sapped, discouraged. I thought of a retreat. The hills offer protection in this season of uncertainty. Televised fidelity is indeed a refuge for scoundrels. Paper Machine is not a centralized force of interrogation or, god forbid, explication. It is a collection. An internment of suspicious pieces. Ones with suspect papers. It is this range of puns, association and daring word play which makes Paper Machine both effective and maddening.

In principle, a philosopher should be without a passport, even undocumented; he should never be asked for his visa. He should not represent a nationality, or even a national language.

The Departures Lounge of the Mind is a busy place. When there we should care less about the complimentary drinks and practice instead a more earnest empathy. ( )
  jonfaith | Feb 22, 2019 |
Too cool for school, Derrida being quite playful with Being after print.

Sorry, couldn't help myself. Fans of McLuhan and Ong / new media theory or postmodernism should give this one a read. ( )
  marccsantos | Mar 12, 2007 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Jacques Derridaprimary authorall editionscalculated
Bowlby, RachelTranslatormain authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Publisher Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

This book questions the book itself, archivization, machines for writing, and the mechanicity inherent in language, the media, and intellectuals. Derrida questions what takes place between the paper and the machine inscribing it. He examines what becomes of the archive when the world of paper is subsumed in new machines for virtualization, and whether there can be a virtual event or a virtual archive. Derrida continues his long-standing investigation of these issues, and ties them into the new themes that governed his teaching and thinking in the past few years: the secret, pardon, perjury, state sovereignty, hospitality, the university, animal rights, capital punishment, the question of what sort of mediatized world is replacing the print epoch, and the question of the "wholly other." Derrida is remarkable at making seemingly occasional pieces into part of a complexly interconnected trajectory of thought.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.06)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 177,305,592 books! | Top bar: Always visible