HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Sanctuary: Joust #3 (Dragon Jousters) by…
Loading...

Sanctuary: Joust #3 (Dragon Jousters) (original 2005; edition 2005)

by Mercedes Lackey (Author)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,1271113,524 (3.73)25
In gaining entry to Altan noble society, Kiron had come to learn many distressing things about who really controlled Alta. The Magi were plotting to replace the royal Great Ones and rule Alta, and had built a terrible weapon, the Eye of Light, which could kill from afar.
Member:pandaofhugs
Title:Sanctuary: Joust #3 (Dragon Jousters)
Authors:Mercedes Lackey (Author)
Info:DAW (2005), Edition: First Edition, 320 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Sanctuary by Mercedes Lackey (2005)

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 25 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
I like the books Mercedes lackey writes, she is good at creating a believable world and people to populate it. This series starts off very strong though I do feel that it falls off a bit as it progresses. It is truly readable and enjoyable. ( )
  KateKat11 | Sep 24, 2021 |
My wife loves this series and reads it at least once a year, so about 2 years I bought them in hardcover for our personal library.

I discovered Lackey when I was in highschool and during college. I liked most of her storylines [when you're 17, everything is new] but found a lot of her material to be objectionable from a Christian standpoint. So I ended up being extremely wary of her works, as I felt like I was walking through a minefield every time I read one of her books. Now, being a bit more mature, I feel like those mines" are more like dog poop "mines". If I step on them, they won't kill me, but they make me feel disgusting and then I need to go wash my feet off :)

Now that I've got all that out of my system, let write about the book itself. This was right on par with the previous two. Same pacing, same characters acting the same way, same gushing about dragons, same badguys being all "baddy".

My first thought when starting this was "why are they keeping the dragons around?" The group in Sanctuary doesn't seem to be planning on using the dragons as an army, aren't going to attack anyone, yet they spend enormous resources, in manpower, time and materials, keeping these dragons around and planning for more. They are gigantic pets!

Then things get going with Alta and Tia and the mages and everything wraps up pretty neatly and nicely. And I know that there is another book yet. So I ask my wife about the whole "dragon" question and she told me that the next book addresses that very issue; I also asked her WHAT the final book could be about, as it felt like this one really wrapped the series up. She just told me that the story moves to a wider scope than previously but still wraps up ok.

So final word is if you liked the previous 2 books, you'll like this. If you didn't, don't bother, this isn't some how magically "better" than them, it is the same :)" ( )
  BookstoogeLT | Dec 10, 2016 |
Actually, [bc:Aerie|13979|Aerie (Dragon Jousters, #4)|Mercedes Lackey|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1166575458s/13979.jpg|2600] is concluding book to this four volume series. That said, this one was a very satisfying entry in series and a riveting read in terms of action, engrossing characters and more so than first two books a believable worldbuilding. I am particularly fond of the type of worldbuilding where beloved characters get to build a whole new society (and generally a really big fan of Ms. Lackey for all that three of her collaboration efforts are among my most hated ever) so likely this review is prejudiced. ( )
  Spurts | Oct 29, 2015 |
I ripped through this pretty quickly. It was definitely a page turner and an easy read. The story was enjoyable, I just feel like Mercedes Lackey's actual writing could be better. But she does come up with good plots. ( )
  JG_IntrovertedReader | Apr 3, 2013 |
This is the third book in the Dragon Jouster's series that began with Joust and continued in Alta, and you should read those first. I'm a fan generally of Lackey's books, particularly her Valdemar series, and I think these are among the best of her books I've read. The series is centered on Kiron (in the first book known as Vetch) and I like his arc throughout the books, as well as the magical land, reminiscent of Ancient Egypt, in which this is set--and the dragons of course. They're not talking or telepathic dragons in the vein of McCaffrey or Novik, but are still engaging. The problems in the two lands of the previous books come to a head in this one, and beyond following characters I'd grown to care about (the dragons as much as the humans) this makes for a well-paced gripping adventure tale. ( )
  LisaMaria_C | Sep 27, 2010 |
Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Mercedes Lackeyprimary authorall editionscalculated
Lee, Jody A.Cover artistsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
Dedicated to the Lunatics. You know who you are.
First words
It was the silent, blue time before dawn.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

In gaining entry to Altan noble society, Kiron had come to learn many distressing things about who really controlled Alta. The Magi were plotting to replace the royal Great Ones and rule Alta, and had built a terrible weapon, the Eye of Light, which could kill from afar.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.73)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5 2
3 78
3.5 13
4 73
4.5 3
5 43

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 163,193,901 books! | Top bar: Always visible