HomeGroupsTalkExploreZeitgeist
Search Site
Have you checked out SantaThing, LibraryThing's gift-giving tradition?
dismiss
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Genesis Secret by Tom Knox
Loading...

The Genesis Secret (edition 2009)

by Tom Knox

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4791940,126 (3.14)7
When an archaeological dig in Kurdistan unearths a structure far older than Stonehenge or the Great Pyramids, British reporter Rob Lutrell rushes to the scene. But this intriguing assignment takes a turn for the worse when sabotage and murder cast a frightening shadow over the site.
Member:ann_the_imp
Title:The Genesis Secret
Authors:Tom Knox
Info:London : Harper, 2009.
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work Information

The Genesis Secret by Tom Knox

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 7 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
An archeological dig at Gobekli Tepe in Turkish Kurdistan reveals evidence of a building which may be 5,000 years older than any previous known structure. The dig also reveals evidence suggesting that the site may also be the location of Eden. Yet, underlying these finds is a seeming antagonism or hatred against the scientists by the locals working on the dig and living in the area. All of this makes for a strong hook into an intriguing storyline. To cap the efforts of the scientists, the lead archeologist is found impaled at the site.

Unfortunately, Tom Knox, the pseudonym for Sean Thomas, a London-based journalist (like his central character, Rob Luttrell) goes off on a tangent by introducing a series of brutal murders in the British Isles. The murders appear to be the work of psychopathic killers. Ultimately, they are connected to a group of privileged Upper-Class college students, linked to a society of the social elite known as the Hellfire Club. This club has a centuries-old history of decadence, depravity and debauchery. Its membership included leaders of society in England and America.

In his efforts to blend these two story lines, Knox strains credulity. Its seems that, despite their history of brutish and brutal behavior, the members of the Hellfire Club may only be acting that way because the leaders may possess a certain genetic strain which results in their behavior.

The book is well written, and although there were murders, the first couple of them were violent but bearable. I read primarily murder mysteries and usually they don't bother me, but after the first few,they became increasing violent. Though the murder "sacrifices" may have been based on actual historical accounts of early human cultures, there were just too many and most were unnecessary as the author had established a story line that would have worked beautifully. ( )
  Carol420 | May 31, 2016 |
I tagged this book as horror due to the well done, very gruesome, and scary torture/human sacrifice scenes. They were difficult to get through, especially with the knowledge that they may have actually happened to people in the past. The writing was very readable, the characters and dialog were enjoyable, but the plot? I was disappointed. You could see what was going to happen. Because the characters have high IQ's you'd think they would see it too - or at least take some precautionary measures. But I guess they didn't really have to because the "last minute save" at the end was disappointingly predictable also. ( )
  mainrun | May 23, 2015 |
Not a bad adventure but I thought the ending could have been a little more exciting.
  SusanBNM | Nov 23, 2014 |
I was warned in advance before reading this that there were some pretty unpleasant scenes. I was still shocked by the graphic violence though. And I consider myself pretty unshockable. The story itself is fairly generic, something has been dug up in the desert that indicates that world religion is built on a foundation of lies and deception and it's up to our unwitting hero, a journalist in this instance, to stop the world from finding out. If it wasn't for one or two frankly sickening scenes then I would have given this three stars for being a fairly interesting story. In honesty I only finished it out of sheer bloody mindedness. ( )
  cathymoore | Mar 12, 2014 |
Take Andean freeze dried Mummies with enlarged skulls, transpose them to Turkey, increase the size of the skeletons, mix in an ancient deliberate burial, throw in an age of 10,000 years and add a present day Secret Society.

Now you've got an excellent Tom Knox adventure novel. ( )
  Chris.Graham | Jul 30, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Tom Knoxprimary authorall editionscalculated
Kapari-Jatta, JaanaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Alan Greening was drunk.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

When an archaeological dig in Kurdistan unearths a structure far older than Stonehenge or the Great Pyramids, British reporter Rob Lutrell rushes to the scene. But this intriguing assignment takes a turn for the worse when sabotage and murder cast a frightening shadow over the site.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
A gripping high-concept thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Sam Bourne. In the sunburnt deserts of eastern Turkey, archaeologists are unearthing a stone temple, the world's most ancient building. When Journalist Rob Luttrell is sent to report on the dig, he is intrigued to learn that someone deliberately buried the site 10,000 years ago. Why? Meanwhile, in London, a bizarre attack is baffling the police. When a weird killing takes place on the Isle of Man, followed by another in rural Dorset, DC Mark Forrester begins to discern a curious pattern in these apparently random murders. What weaves together these two stories is the Genesis Secret: a revelation so shocking it may threaten the social structure of the world. Only one man knows the secret, and he is intent on destroying the evidence before it can be uncovered. Spanning the globe from the ruined castles of Ireland to the desolate wastes of Kurdistan, Tom Knox's intense and compelling thriller weaves together genuine historical evidence, scientific insights and Biblical mysteries into an electrifying tale that grips the reader mercilessly from beginning to end.
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.14)
0.5
1 8
1.5 1
2 11
2.5 7
3 29
3.5 5
4 28
4.5 1
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 164,311,109 books! | Top bar: Always visible