HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

A Deeper Faith: A Journey into Spirituality…
Loading...

A Deeper Faith: A Journey into Spirituality

by Jeff Golliher

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
121768,668NoneNone

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

In the tradition of Madeleine L’Engle, Frederick Buechner, and Thomas Merton comes a brilliant new voice—Jeffrey Mark Golliher—whose life, teachings, and writings will inspire and instruct a new generation.
The spiritual journey is an adventure that has few road maps. Filled with amazing highs and deep lows, the journey of the soul can be confusing, confounding, and at times elusive. Seekers both new and seasoned need a guide to help them through each phase of growth and learning.

A modern-day Merton, Episcopalian priest and cultural anthropologist Jeffrey Mark Golliher is such a guide. He uses the form of letters to a spiritual seeker to act as a mentor and friend, answering questions that we all can relate to, as well as telling stories from his own life and from the lives of the thousands he has counseled and helped over the years. The book follows the liturgical seasons of the Christian calendar, as Golliher brings into focus the perils and promises that a life filled with holiness and awe will bring.

Divided into three sections—“Responding to the Call,” “Making the Passage,” and “The Path of Love”—Golliher’s work ushers his reader through the rhythms of the soul, bringing wisdom to the road traveled by all who seek a great understanding and deeper connection to God.

This is a book for any reader who wants spiritual nourishment, especially during the dark nights when doubt reigns supreme and faith is hardest to find. Graceful without being preachy, A Deeper Faith is the story of believing when all else fails and of holding on to the promise of a devotional life. Honest, revealing, and important, this is a modern classic of an ancient rite of passage, the path of the soul, written by a man who has traveled the path and come back to help each of us. (Amazon.com review)

Owned by Brockmann
jbrockma@udel.edu
  societystf | Mar 26, 2016 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: No ratings.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 124,932,525 books! | Top bar: Always visible