Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Death and the Maiden by Frank Tallis

Death and the Maiden (2011)

by Frank Tallis

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
572207,436 (3.83)1



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

English (1)  French (1)  All languages (2)
Frank Tallis's fifth book in his Liebermann Vienna series is a very good follow-up to the previous four. Set in Vienna at the beginning of the 20th century, the novels follow the burgeoning psychiatric career of Max Liebermann, an acolyte of Sigmund Freud, who often assists the Viennese police in crime solving. I've read others in this series and the key players are interesting and evolving.

Max Liebermann is not the only main character in Tallis's books. He shares the pages with policeman Oskar Rheinhardt and the city of Vienna. Vienna - that gorgeous capital of the Austro-Hungarian empire on the banks of the Danube - a city filled with music and pastries, which cover up a deeper layer of anti-Semitism and corruption of all layers of government that Rheinhardt and Liebermann delve into as they work together to solve murders.

In his latest novel, Tallis throws in murder of an opera diva, the election of Karl Lueger to yet another term as mayor of Vienna, as well as tracing the history of some musical pieces Liebermann has found. Dr Freud makes an appearance as Liebermann's mentor and Amelia Lydgate returns as the object of Liebermann's rather ham-handed suitor. Gustav Mahler and Emperor Franz Josef are also part of the story. A real all-star lineup! But it all comes together in the end. Tallis has a way of tying up loose ends, making this book a very satisfactory read. ( )
1 vote Jawin | Nov 2, 2013 |
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Information from the French Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
First words
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English


Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siecle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss. Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement. PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS "[A] captivating historical series."--The New York Times Book Review "[A] riveting read. with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight "Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets "Engrossing. immensely satisfying."--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies"--… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
9 wanted
3 pay3 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.83)
2 1
2.5 3
3.5 5
4 5
4.5 3
5 4


An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,751,078 books! | Top bar: Always visible