HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel by…
Loading...

The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel (2016)

by Karan Mahajan

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5313529,367 (3.59)60

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 60 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 35 (next | show all)
3.5 - All the pieces are well made, though the total ends up only ok. The prose effectively drags and prods with a few scattered beautiful sentences. The shifting focus is the strength and weakness, allowing for Mahajan's world-building skill to expand past each character while leaving an unfinished (unfinishable?), unsatisfying feeling in this reader. Above average, but could have been great. ( )
  Eoin | Jun 3, 2019 |
Harsh. A bomb goes off and lives are shattered. Not a fun read but good on the pervasiveness of tragedy and the collateral damage of terrorism. A different kind of India book than I've read before but not one I'd recommend. Everything's so miserable, unjust and futile. ( )
  asxz | Mar 13, 2019 |
Some parts of this novel were like YES 5 STARZ PLZ but other parts were more like UGH ONLY 3 STARS FOR YOU. It really evens out to 4 four star book. Though I wasn't sure what journey the narrative was taking me on, it definitely made me think seriously about terrorism and what the effects of so many "small bombs" really is. ( )
  Katie_Roscher | Jan 18, 2019 |
I really enjoyed the writing and social commentary in this book. It dealt with difficult topics maturely. ( )
  3njennn | Nov 25, 2018 |
It was fine. Well-written, very MFA-y. A little bit too MFA in its ending because leaving things hanging by ending like that is SO lit-fic, but it wasn't bad or boring...just very literary fiction-y. ( )
  jeninmotion | Sep 24, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 35 (next | show all)
Der US-indische Autor beschreibt in seinem prämierten Roman "In Gesellschaft kleiner Bomben" die Nachwirkungen eines Bombenattentats. Nicht nur im Persönlichen, sondern auch im Sozialen.
 

» Add other authors (3 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Karan Mahajanprimary authorall editionscalculated
Shah, NeilNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0525429638, Hardcover)

For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.
 
Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

(retrieved from Amazon Tue, 17 Nov 2015 09:55:11 -0500)

After witnessing his two friends killed by a "small" bomb that detonated in a Dehli marketplace, Mansoor Ahmed becomes involved with a charismatic young activist, whose allegiances and beliefs are more changeable than he could have imagined.

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.59)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 6
2.5 4
3 37
3.5 16
4 41
4.5 3
5 16

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 138,089,542 books! | Top bar: Always visible