HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Midnight at the Blackbird Café

by Heather Webber

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2772475,166 (4.01)9
Heather Webber'sMidnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm. Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café. It was supposed to be a quick trip to close the café and settle her grandmother's estate, but despite her best intentions to avoid forming ties or even getting to know her father's side of the family, Anna Kate finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can't stop talking about. As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 9 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
A light easy read. Young woman returns to Southern town to the restaurant which he grandmother owned. She will inherit the restaurant only if she stays in town and runs it for 1 year. the pies her grandmother made had magical powers and influence the decisions of many of the townspeople. ( )
  AstridG | Jul 18, 2021 |
Magical and delightful. ( )
  Tosta | Jul 5, 2021 |
Midnight at the Blackbird cafe is a lovely southern magical realism/fabulism that is perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Kelly Harms, or Amy Reichert.

It is a magical book with a story that will slowly reel you in and stick with you, while leaving you wishing you could pay a visit to the Blackbird Cafe and the town of Wicklow.

Heather Webber does an amazing job of establishing a sense of place, and embuing the story with a bit of wonder. You'll fall in love with Wicklow, Alabama, just like everyone else in the book who visits there (and who tend never to leave), or so the town legend says.

Everyone, that is, except for Anna Kate's mom, who left and vowed to never return.

Wicklow is full of wonderful characters and author Webber does an excellent job creating wonderful and flawed and quirky characters. The main characters are faceted and real, and even a few of the secondary characters experience growth or change in some manner.

The story was more complex than I was anticipating. While this is a story about family, about being held to promises that don't speak to your own heart, about forgiveness, it's also one about grief and the many ways it manifests and how we deal with it.

This is a book with heart and whimsy and love and forgiveness, and it gave me all the feels. The story is layered and it really snuck up on me, resonated, and followed me around for a while after. If there is a certain kind of book I come back to again and again, this is that kind of book.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Amy Reichert, and Kelly Harms, I'm giving Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe five big stars and a space on my bookshelf. It's a keeper.
( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFÉ by Heather Webber
Anna Kate has returned after many years and her grandmother’s death to the café her grandmother and mother owned. The locals believe the blackbirds come out of the forest every night at midnight and sing songs. Those who have eaten the “special pie” from the café dream messages from their dead loved ones. When Anna Kate inherits, the townspeople are worried the messages will stop and many birders come to see and hear the blackbirds and their unusual behavior.
Fully formed characters and an interesting premise make this mystical romantic novel a step above the usual. Women’s groups especially will like this charming Southern romance/family novel.
4 of 5 stars ( )
  beckyhaase | May 28, 2021 |
Sweet story about finding your roots and your family.
Anna Kate’s grandmother died and the tens of her will require that she return to Wicklow, Alabama to run The Blackbird Cafe for at least 2 months. Anna Kate’s mother, Eden, had died a few years earlier, but never wanted to return to Wicklow because of how she had been treated by the Linden family after their son (Eden’s boyfriend) had been killed in a car accident when she was driving. No one knew Eden was pregnant when she left town.
When Anna Kate returns to Winslow, prior to going to medical school, to fulfill the terms of the will, she and the townspeople get messages from the blackbirds that appear at midnight, from eating the pies served at the cafe, and from the magical stories that Eden and Zee told Anna Kate.
The small town shows itself through kindness to Anna Kate, but will she be able to overcome the feelings her mother instilled in her about the town, and what decisions will she make about her future?
#MidnightAtTheBlackbirdCafe #HeatherWebber ( )
  rmarcin | Jan 2, 2021 |
Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (1 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Heather Webberprimary authorall editionscalculated
Lind, BethanyNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Techosky, NicholasNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Willis, StephanieNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Heather Webber'sMidnight at the Blackbird Cafe is a captivating blend of magical realism, heartwarming romance, and small-town Southern charm. Nestled in the mountain shadows of Alabama lies the little town of Wicklow. It is here that Anna Kate has returned to bury her beloved Granny Zee, owner of the Blackbird Café. It was supposed to be a quick trip to close the café and settle her grandmother's estate, but despite her best intentions to avoid forming ties or even getting to know her father's side of the family, Anna Kate finds herself inexplicably drawn to the quirky Southern town her mother ran away from so many years ago, and the mysterious blackbird pie everybody can't stop talking about. As the truth about her past slowly becomes clear, Anna Kate will need to decide if this lone blackbird will finally be able to take her broken wings and fly.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.01)
0.5
1
1.5
2 5
2.5 3
3 11
3.5 2
4 32
4.5 6
5 24

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 163,489,379 books! | Top bar: Always visible