HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Juana and Lucas by Juana Medina
Loading...

Juana and Lucas

by Juana Medina

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
13024135,588 (4.1)7

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 7 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 25 (next | show all)
"...my life is pretty fantastic and English will do nothing but ruin it” (p. 32). When Juana, a school girl from Bogotá, faces the challenge of the having to learn "the English" she is absolutely opposed. The book has quite a bit of text but the colorful drawings and the way the letters are placed make it a fun read.
One thing I particularly like about this book is that it has a Latina protagonist. Although the book is primarily an English narration by Juana, some Spanish is incorporated into the book, for example, when Juana sits next to her friend Juli on the bus she says: “Sitting with Juli is always good because we have mucho to talk about” (p.g 11). This is a fun way to introduce kids to Spanish and broaden their cultural horizons. ( )
  noorkazmi | Feb 13, 2019 |
Juana and Lucas is really more about Juana and her struggles with learning English than about a girl and her dog. Juana, a young girl in Bogota, Columbia, has started a new year at school and has discovered that she has to learn English. She finds it very difficult and does not know why she has to learn it. Throughout the book we learn about Juana, her family and her favourite things. There is a mix of Spanish throughout the book which is nice. When she talks to her Abuelo (grandfather) he convinces her that she should learn English and it will come in very handy for a trip he is going to take them on. She buckles down and is successful.

This book has cute illustrations and informative text, but it is a little to difficult and wordy for beginning readers. It would be able to be read by readers who are becoming more fluent. It could be used with students who are going to be learning a new language, whatever it might be.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest reveiw. ( )
  Carlathelibrarian | Feb 5, 2019 |
This is a sweet book about a girl who gets the opportunity to fly to Florida to go to Spaceland. She is not excited about learning English however has been given the ultimatum to get her English grade up or not get to go. As Juana narrates the book, we get to explore Bogota, her friends and family members and her best friend, Lucas the dog. This book has lovely illustrations on all the pages, the word design is set up to be engaging and enjoyable and the expression Juana emits through out the book leaves the reader begging for more! Great book overall! ( )
  ElizabethHogeland | Aug 5, 2018 |
working with a culture and a girls needs...
  jjohnsonIII9567 | Jun 7, 2018 |
This story showed what it’s like for a girl named Juana to live in Columbia. This book shows what Juana likes and dislikes. It can teach kids about the similarities and differences from growing up in Columbia to where they live.
  mapeck129 | Dec 3, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 25 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0763672084, Hardcover)

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.

Juana loves many things — drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or going to dance class. And she especially does not love learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? But when Juana’s abuelos tell her about a special trip they are planning—one that Juana will need to speak English to go on—Juana begins to wonder whether learning the English might be a good use of her time after all. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones — the heartsof readers everywhere in her first adventure, presented by namesake Juana Medina.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 06 Jun 2016 09:22:25 -0400)

A spunky young girl from Colombia loves playing with her canine best friend and resists boring school activities, especially learning English, until her family tells her that a special trip is planned to an English-speaking place.

» see all 2 descriptions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Juana Medina's book Juana and Lucas was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.1)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 19
4.5 3
5 5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 132,572,261 books! | Top bar: Always visible