HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Machine

by Elizabeth Bear

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: White Space (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
25817104,146 (3.77)21
"In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn't had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she's never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can't resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she's about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear's signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won't be able to put down"--… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 21 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
I...I dunno. I enjoyed it enough to finish it, but the looooooong digressions were maddening, I skimmed over huge sections that didn't contribute anything to the story, and I don't like needing to do that! A little firmer editorial hand would have helped this book a lot. But there are lots of interesting characters, and the central mystery was engaging enough. But honestly, I don't fully understand how it was wrapped up in the end, but whatever. It was fine. ( )
  ledonnelly | Mar 11, 2024 |
A good story, good characters and I love the homage to James White's Sector General. A distress call brings the space ambulance to a distant and strange location where two ships are discovered, a generation ship and a merchant ship, but everyone is dead or in stasis except a comely golden AI. That's how the story begins, but it rapidly becomes apparent that all is not in the least bit as it appears, the target is . . . . but I can't tell you that can I? Dr. Jens has a severe auto-immune problem and depends on her 'exo-suit' to let her function, she has personal issues beside the constant pain management, to do with loyalty and where to bestow it. She is asked to investigate a problem in the hospital itself, and it slowly becomes apparent that all is seriously not well and she has to think and feel her way through how to handle the matter. I found myself wishing to know more about how the people who survive being re-awakened from 600 years ago, in cryo for who knows how long, were going to cope, but this wasn't their story. At the end Dr. Jens internal monologue really did go on for too long. Kind of gave the ending a bit of the leaky balloon feeling. ***1/2 ( )
  sibylline | Aug 18, 2023 |
2606
  freixas | Mar 31, 2023 |
The second book is written that you really don’t have to read the previous book set in this universe. A few things are mentioned that happened in the book and there are a few characters overlap but nothing that would leave someone confused about what is going on. The story focus on space ambulance doctor who’s crew is sent to a mayday signal. They find an old generation ship and a modern ship docked to it. The crew of the modern ship is completely incapacitated and the people on the generation ship are in a crude form of cryo with only a basic AI taking care of them. They bring some of the pods and the AI back to the hospital for treatment and quickly find the modern AIs on the station have become infected with a virus. Dr Jens is concerned for her patients, but she is quickly tapped for her old skills in law enforcement to find out who is doing this. The mystery is good and the universe is well thought out about how society has changed. There are lots of different alien species and you do get the feeling that they are aliens and not just humans in disguise.


Digital review copy provided by the publisher through Edelweiss
( )
  Glennis.LeBlanc | Jan 4, 2023 |
It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t the type of sci fi I particularly enjoy. It was a bit wordy and repetitive. Characterization was okay. The main character was a preachy and rolled around in her own head too much. ( )
  Luziadovalongo | Jul 14, 2022 |
Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Elizabeth Bearprimary authorall editionscalculated
Andoh, AdjoaNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

"In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn't had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she's never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can't resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she's about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear's signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won't be able to put down"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

LibraryThing Author

Elizabeth Bear is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.77)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 1
3 12
3.5 5
4 24
4.5 3
5 12

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 206,166,700 books! | Top bar: Always visible