HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Inheritance Games

by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,523942,576 (4.08)34
Mystery. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets‚??perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
/> Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why‚??or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House where every room bears the old man's touch‚??and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 34 mentions

English (91)  Spanish (1)  All languages (92)
Showing 1-5 of 91 (next | show all)
I love the start of this series kept me on edge and was a fun ride all the way through! :) ( )
  Dreynolds12 | Jun 17, 2024 |
Well, well, well.
I THOUGHT I might like this puzzle mystery, thought it would be in the vein of the classic The Westing Game, but sadly, it was not.
Maybe I've become skilled at seeing through red herrings (don't think so), but I absolutely guessed, after just the first chapter, what the big cliffhanger would be.

This one is YA and while I think the teen crowd would absolutely enjoy, the premise of having 1 super smart, but poor, teen girl being forced to live in the mega mansion of 4 handsome, wealthy half-brothers, and simultaneously blowing hot and cold for almost all of them, I did not.

Avery (said teen girl) internal dialog just grated on me, sorry. For a smart girl, she does some not-so-smart things.
I did love the phone conversations of her sassy, irreverent best friend, Maxine (Max).

I see that this is a 4-book (so far) series.
Unsure if I have the patience for this soap opera for 3 more books. ( )
  deslivres5 | Jun 15, 2024 |
I loved this so much! It's a mystery, but more like a game show than anything else. ( )
  ScarletttheBookworm | Jun 4, 2024 |
Read this because a friend recommended.
It was too young and focused on love triangles with rich white teens for me. ( )
  spiritedstardust | Jun 1, 2024 |
A fun, twisty start to the Inheritance Games series. I love all of the puzzles that Tobias left for Avery and the Hawthorne boys to solve. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series. ( )
  Shauna_Morrison | May 31, 2024 |
Showing 1-5 of 91 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

Belongs to Series

Awards

Notable Lists

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
For Samuel
First words
When I was a kid, my mom constantly invented games.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Mystery. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets‚??perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.
Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why‚??or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.
To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House where every room bears the old man's touch‚??and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (4.08)
0.5 1
1 4
1.5
2 18
2.5 5
3 85
3.5 28
4 244
4.5 35
5 192

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 207,162,115 books! | Top bar: Always visible