HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Crime School

by Carol O'Connell

Series: Mallory (6)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6431037,008 (3.98)17
Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:For readers of Stieg Larsson: the sixth Mallory novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chalk Girl—in trade paperback for the first time.

Police Detective Kathleen Mallory recognized the dead call girl. It was someone from her past, a woman who protected her on the streets of New York—and who betrayed her. Mallory also recognized the crime scene: victim hanging, hair in mouth, fire burning. It happened twenty-one years ago, when Mallory was a child. Now—whether it’s the work of a copy-cat killer or a serial murderer—it has happened again.

Kathleen Mallory’s past has finally caught up with her..
… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 17 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 10 (next | show all)
This was a well written book. There was a great story line. If you like a suspense, this is the book. ( )
  jeanniea | Apr 26, 2016 |
Crime School is, like Find Me and Dead Famous, a slow starter, but stick with it for a great finish. ( )
  MickMcA | Aug 22, 2013 |
NYPD's most beautiful and ruthless detective investigates a series of hanging attacks on women that a duplicate a twenty-year-old murder. Both Mallory and her partner Riker have a personal interest, for one of the victims is a former junkie-prostitute that mothered Mallory when she was a street urchin. Her friend Charles Butler wants to know why Riker removed a pulp western paperback novel from the woman's crime scene, only to discover that the young Mallory had a reading club among working girls. A rookie being tutored by Mallory and Riker apparently is the basis for the title. Or perhaps it refers to young Mallory's own brutal tutelage on the streets.

A good, solid read.

I have an issue with some of the Mallory novels - Shell Game, Crime School, Winter House. O'Connell always provides two endings to her stories, one to the mystery, the other to the emotional conflicts among her regulars. I have noticed that the latter tends to be more satisfying and resonant than the former. In these stories, especially, she provides a plausible culprit but then has said culprit being bluffed into signing confessions that send him or her to jail for good. I didn't believe this the first time O'Connell used it, in Shell Game. I really don't believe it in this case. On the other hand, I nearly teared up at the last scene, when Mallory came to terms with another part of her past. ( )
  Coach_of_Alva | Jun 2, 2013 |
Of Carol O'Connell's Mallory series that I've read, this and "Stone Angel" have been my faves. Can't put it down. ( )
  Julie_Brock | Apr 12, 2013 |
An outstanding book in an excellent series ( )
  jamespurcell | Dec 7, 2010 |
Showing 1-5 of 10 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
For the Teachers
First words
High in the sky, apartment windows were smudges of grimy yellow, and this passed for starlight in New York City.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:For readers of Stieg Larsson: the sixth Mallory novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chalk Girl—in trade paperback for the first time.

Police Detective Kathleen Mallory recognized the dead call girl. It was someone from her past, a woman who protected her on the streets of New York—and who betrayed her. Mallory also recognized the crime scene: victim hanging, hair in mouth, fire burning. It happened twenty-one years ago, when Mallory was a child. Now—whether it’s the work of a copy-cat killer or a serial murderer—it has happened again.

Kathleen Mallory’s past has finally caught up with her..

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.98)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 3
3 24
3.5 4
4 58
4.5 9
5 35

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,357,560 books! | Top bar: Always visible