HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Astrid the Unstoppable by Maria Parr
Loading...

Astrid the Unstoppable (2018)

by Maria Parr

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8512213,127 (4.33)5

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 5 mentions

English (11)  Dutch (1)  Spanish (1)  All languages (13)
Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
Astrid is a spunky little red haired girl who finds herself in all kinds of mischievous situations. She rules the little mountain town of Glimmerdal, or so she thinks. She wins hearts and navigates changes on her many adventures.

The author combines strong characters a plot full of fun and adventure and a beautiful setting to create a story about a confident and strong willed girl who is also loving and caring. The book is realistic fiction with fun elements that almost make it fantastical. This story will appeal to readers who like Pippi Longstocking or Annie type characters. ( )
  SWONclear | Jan 18, 2019 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Very Pippi-esque, fun novel! ( )
  RenaeMcBrian | Nov 7, 2018 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Astrid is the only child living on Glimmerdal, and spends her time annoying the health retreat owner, skiing, and sledding. The book is being posed alongside Pippi Longstocking, Anne Shirley, etc...

Unfortunately the book didn't work for me. It seems to be trying too hard and Astrid never felt like a fully developed character. Her bad behavior didn't seem warranted or explainable in the way Pippi's is (having been raised by pirates), so just appeared rude and entitled (but it's not at all a "spoiled child unlearns bad behavior" book either). The deeper story line also felt very contrived and extremely rushed in characters suddenly opening up or liking each other after all. I don't think it comes anywhere close to the classics of children's lit or the great girl heroines. ( )
  mabith | Oct 31, 2018 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
The only child in the valley of Glimmerdal, nine-year-old Astrid is delightfully impulsive -- a Pippi Longstocking for the 21st century. Her best friend and frequent conspirator in adventure is her elderly neighbor Gunnvald, though one day she is surprised to meet two children at the nearby resort. How is that possible, when Hagen's Wellness Retreat is strictly adults only? And who is the strange woman who arrives in the valley when Gunnvald is hospitalized? I loved the humor and Nordic spirit in this charming children's novel, though I could have done with fewer references to snus.

I received this ARC via LibraryThing's Early Reviewers program. ( )
  ryner | Sep 24, 2018 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
When critics compared Astrid to Pippi, Heidi and Anne Shirley, I remained skeptical.

What a pleasant surprise to find out that the critics were correct!

"Astrid the Unstoppable" blends important life lessons -- the value of friendship, family and forgiveness -- with enough fun and adventure to be appealing to any child. This book is just plain fun, and I will most definitely be adding it to the collection of the public library I direct ---and will be giving copies to my great nieces ---- because that's what a good auntie would do. ( )
  DMS1962 | Sep 6, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 11 (next | show all)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Information from the Russian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Speed and self-confidence, that's Astrid's motto. Nicknamed "the little thunderbolt," She loves to spend her days racing down the hillside on her skis or sled, singing merrily as she goes, and drinking hot chocolate made from real chocolate bars with her grumpy best friend and godfather, Gunnvald. She just wishes there were other children to share in her hair-raising adventures. But her world is about to be turned upside down, first by the arrival of a family with children to her village, and then by a mysterious woman whom everyone but Astrid seems to know. Gunnvald has been keeping a big secret from her --one that will test their friendship. Astrid isn't happy about all the changes in Glimmerdal. Luckily, she has a plan to set things right.… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

Maria Parr's book Astrid the Unstoppable is currently available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.33)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 10
4.5
5 15

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,457,027 books! | Top bar: Always visible