HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Alias Hook (2013)

by Lisa Jensen

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
24123113,852 (3.91)12
""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"--… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 12 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
Realistically this is more of a 3.5 for me....but as someone who has always been suspicious of Peter Pan, I appreciate Jensen agreeing with me so that earns it another half star.

There has been a lot of different renditions of Hook in my life time--the move HOOK with Dustin Hoffman, PETER PAN with Jason Issacs, PETER PAN with Christopher Walken, PAN with Hugh Jackman, Disney's animated Hook, WENDY AND THE NEVERLAND PIRATES' animated Hook, Syfy's NEVERLAND's Hook, ABC's ONCE UPON A TIME's Killian Jones/Hook...

And that has nothing on the LITERARY versions...

So Hook has gotten a lot of play in the last 30 years or so okay? This however was an intriguing take as it focuses more on the man who was Hook before, during and after being Pan's "foe" Captain Hook. and that peaked my interest like you wouldn't believe. ( )
  lexilewords | Dec 28, 2023 |
It isn't you, it's me. You are a perfectly nice book and I'm sure there are lots of readers out there who will love you for the book that you are. You and I are just not meant to be.

For me Alias Hook started out quite good in the beginning but as the story progressed my interest in the story declined and it took every ounce of my being just to continue. Not that the book is badly written it wasn't just my cup of tea. The idea was great; Captain Hook, the great villain in Neverland isn't really the great villain. Instead he is stuck there, has been for 200 years, and it is Peter Pan that is the actual bad boy. Then one day a woman arrives in Neverland, why is she there? Who sent her?

The book isn't bad, I liked parts of it. I liked the idea that Hook is the victim and Peter Pan is the one that is tormenting him. How fun is there to be stuck in Neverland, immortal while the crew is mortal and Pan and his boys kill them off and new grown-ups arrive to join the crew on the ship. Not bloody fun I would imagine. But I just couldn't  commit to the story. My heart wasn't in it. And I really, really wanted to like it. Oh well, I guess not every book is for me.

The only thing working really well for me in the book was that I imagined Jason Isaacs as Captain Hook...;)



Thank you Netgalley for providing me with a free copy for an honest review! ( )
  MaraBlaise | Jul 23, 2022 |
Oh, wow. This was one book I has been looking for. Reading had become dull and I had picked this up from the new book shelf at the library. The story of Peter Pan told from the point of view of Captain Hook. And what if he wasn't the nasty mean villain he was portrayed to be? The character development was stupendous. I needed this. I was constantly engaged especially in watching how Hook went from man to pirate to man who learned to love. I totally recommend this book. The characters alone make it worth it.

It was interesting to not only read Hook's insight to himself but also in how he viewed Pan and his cruelty. We think children are innocent and free of pain when in reality they can some of the cruelest people. I also appreciated how the love story between Hook and Stella wasn't about sex but about sacrifice and growing up. ( )
  pacbox | Jul 9, 2022 |
If you enjoyed Wicked and enjoy re-imagined fairy tales and historical fiction, this book is for you.

Did you ever wonder how Hook came to be in Neverland, a place where grownups are not allowed? This is the story of James Benjamin Hook, otherwise known as Captain Hook from the story of Peter Pan. But this is not children's fairy tale. It is dark, brutal, and Jensen's Pan is a petulant, nasty little piece of work (in mom lingo: a little shit) who has kept Hook around for 200 years, killing him over and over again, just so he and his Lost Boys can triumph once again over grownups.

As Hook himself tires of the games and longs for actual, final death, the very grownup Stella Parrish somehow dreams herself to Neverland, very much against Peter's rules which puts her in grave danger. Her arrival occurs as signs appear to both the fairies and the Indians signaling a change - is the Hook's chance to escape the enchantment?

Dark, horrible, replete with naughty fairies that were never imagined by Disney and a complicated main character, this is a tale of forgiveness and redemption.

You can read my full review on my blog at http://www.mommaontherocks.com/4747/im-reading-wed…day-alias-hook ( )
  jenncaffeinated | Jul 4, 2021 |
3.5.
I liked it; didn't love it. It did drag at times but in the end it was a fairly decent read. ( )
  lost_in_here | Jun 23, 2021 |
Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"--

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 3
4 14
4.5 2
5 12

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 208,952,770 books! | Top bar: Always visible