HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

Skin (2007)

by Ted Dekker

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,1982616,343 (3.56)14
A freak storm has spawned three tornadoes that are bearing down on the town of Summerville. Yet under the cover of the storm looms a much more ominous threat: A vindictive killer known as Red who's left a string of victims in his wake and is now bent on exacting his final revenge on the unsuspecting town. But there is an enigma surrounding Red that the FBI is unwilling to admit-closely guarded secrets of something gone terribly wrong beneath the skin of Summerville. Secrets that will destroy far more than one small town. Wendy Davidson is caught in the middle. She's a recovering cult survivor who takes refuge in Summerville on her way to visit her estranged mother. And with her, four strangers, any of whom could be the next victim . . . or the killer.… (more)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 14 mentions

English (24)  Spanish (2)  All languages (26)
Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
Suspense
  BooksInMirror | Feb 19, 2024 |
(2007)Really good suspense/horror about 5 people drawn into a ?game? that becomes more and more like real life and death. The object of the ?Skin? game is to find the true definition of beauty and ugliness which lies just under the skin. Turns out the game is run by some Government agency using the 5 who suffer from the same type of epilepsy. Library Journal ReviewThis latest release by the reigning king of CF suspense novels (see also Saint, Three, and the "Circle" trilogy) will not disappoint Dekker's many fans as it features his trademark plot surprises, fast pacing, and thrilling story line. This time around, a seemingly unstoppable serial killer seeks revenge by demanding that the five people he has captured kill the ugliest person among them. There is plenty of violence, but it is not graphic, so it is not likely to offend more sensitive readers. This electrifying treat may have crossover appeal for readers of Frank Peretti, Dean Koontz, Michael Crichton, and other authors of taut suspense fiction. Recommended for CF and suspense collections. Dekker resides in Colorado.
  derailer | Jan 25, 2024 |
56521
  WBCLIB | Feb 19, 2023 |
The 4 rating is mostly for the life message that comes near the end.

Which world is real?: the town of Summerville or the desert or is it something else. An unlikely group ends up together in the midst of a serial killer spree--a serial killer who seems focused on "who is the ugliest?"

The book was a bit too creepy for my taste at times. I've read Ted Dekker previously and with some of his books, I'm left feeling that there was a meaning behind it that I'd missed. Thus, I enjoyed the message that came near the end that summed up the idea behind the story: a take on Lucifer's life before and after the fall, that even the best of us are sinners, that even the best of us are not good enough to approach God without Jesus's intercession. ( )
  JenniferRobb | Nov 20, 2020 |
Somewhat disappointed after all the glowing recommendations. Seemed to have minimal suspense. I'm open to reading another of his novels, this one was just not enjoyable to me. ( )
  gac53 | Jan 27, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 24 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
When the rain isn't so much falling--be it in bucket loads or like cats and dogs--but rather slamming into the car like an avalanche of stone, you know it's time to pull over.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

A freak storm has spawned three tornadoes that are bearing down on the town of Summerville. Yet under the cover of the storm looms a much more ominous threat: A vindictive killer known as Red who's left a string of victims in his wake and is now bent on exacting his final revenge on the unsuspecting town. But there is an enigma surrounding Red that the FBI is unwilling to admit-closely guarded secrets of something gone terribly wrong beneath the skin of Summerville. Secrets that will destroy far more than one small town. Wendy Davidson is caught in the middle. She's a recovering cult survivor who takes refuge in Summerville on her way to visit her estranged mother. And with her, four strangers, any of whom could be the next victim . . . or the killer.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.56)
0.5 1
1 6
1.5 1
2 23
2.5 5
3 45
3.5 8
4 53
4.5 1
5 44

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 204,266,581 books! | Top bar: Always visible