HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Tilting House by Tom Llewellyn
Loading...

The Tilting House

by Tom Llewellyn

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
609197,694 (3.81)None
2010 (2) 2012 (1) children (1) children's fiction (1) cybils (1) ebook (1) episodic (1) family (2) fantasy (6) fiction (3) friendship (1) GR (1) Grade 4 (2) grade 5 (2) grade 6 (1) horror fiction (1) houses (1) humor (2) inventors (1) JF (2) juvenile fiction (2) mystery (8) print (1) rats (1) SH (1) siblings (1) spooky (2) to-read (4) Week 1 (1) young adult (2)
  1. 00
    Horten's Miraculous Mechanisms: Magic, Mystery, & a Very Strange Adventure by Lissa Evans (Inky_Fingers)
  2. 00
    Olivia Kidney by Ellen Potter (Inky_Fingers)
    Inky_Fingers: In both these fantasy books, kids move into and explore the strange new buildings they find themselves in.
  3. 00
    Ottoline and the Yellow Cat by Chris Riddell (kaledrina)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
What a wonderful book. A bit strange, a hint of darkness, perfect for young (and older) readers who don't fear adventure lurking in their own homes. A family (Mom, Dad the art curator, two brothers, and Grandpa) move into a strange house they can barely afford with a history and capabilities even stranger than the mysterious man who built it. ( )
  benjclark | Aug 3, 2015 |
There are a number of books about families moving into strange houses built by mad scientists or alchemists that hold secrets, which, of course, the children discover. Of that genre, this is one of the better ones. The secrets are fantastic, like talking rats and a powder that can make living things grow bigger, but at the same time, the fantasy is pretty well grounded in reality, which may appeal to kids who are not really into the sword and sorcery kind of book. The writing is funny, and the characters are nicely drawn. Each chapter is a different adventure, but they all weave together, and many come together in the ending. While I, personally, prefer something more imaginative and fantastic, I still give the book two thumbs up. ( )
1 vote Inky_Fingers | May 31, 2014 |
The protagonist Josh solves many of the mysteries inside their families new home. The house used to be owned by a science genius who filled the house with many curiosities including talking rats, invisibility, and growing potion. The book is set in Tacoma, Washington and the author is from the Northwest. This book would be a fun read for 4-5th graders, especially for those who enjoy magic and mysteries. I personally, wish that there had been more strong female characters in this book. The author focused much of the book on action rather than character development, which unfortunately made the characters some what flat. ( )
  natalienichols | Mar 4, 2014 |
The back of this book advertises "Page-turning intrigue in the tradition of John Bellairs and Ellen Raskin". Now, I don't like Ellen Raskin, but there is a certain disconnected quality to the mystery that reminds me of her. If you're a Raskin fan, this is a good thing. If you're not....But as for John Bellairs, well, I don't think whoever wrote that cover copy had read any of his works recently. Bellairs' stories begin in an atmosphere of mist and confusion that grows into helpless terror.

Ahem.

So what is this story? Actually, quite good. It begins with the Peshik family, Dad who works in a museum, Mom a school secretary, Josh, and his younger brother Aaron, and Grandpa moving into their first house. Everyone is excited to think they're finally getting out of the cramped apartments they've lived in their whole life...until they see what they can afford. Tilton House is....weird, to put it mildly. The floor tilts, the walls are covered by what seems to be a madman's ravings, and the real estate agent is so scared she barely hangs around long enough to complete the sale. If that weren't bad enough, the neighbors are just as strange. The Talking Man sits on his front porch, lost in his own confusing world. The Purple Door Man steals bikes and is all-around nasty. And what about the neighbors inside the house? There are talking rats, mysteries, and random occurences. There are stories and small triumphs.

Each chapter is a story in itself, often seemingly disconnected to the main plot of the story, which concerns the mysterious past owner of the house. The general plot isn't particularly cohesive, and the rather cliched "find a huge treasure and solve all your problems" ending of the story is exasperating, but the writing is strong and lively and the stories intriguing, with just enough scary elements to keep the reader shivering.

Verdict: A good choice for reluctant readers, or those who want something scary, but not too scary. The short chapters will pull in the reader and let them take the story in bite-size doses and the writing is excellent. I'll wait and see if there are future additions to what appears to be a series before adding to my library though.

ISBN: 978-1582462882; Published June 2010 by Tricycle Press; ARC provided by the publisher at ALA
  JeanLittleLibrary | Jan 11, 2012 |
Tom Llewellyn's _The Tilting House_ follows young Josh Peshik and and his family, who move into an eccentric (literally) house with off-center floors and walls covered with mysterious notes and equations. The plot is loose and mostly episodic, describing the various mysterious adventures Josh encounters as a result of his exploration of his weird new home. An easy but engaging read, _The Tilting House_ is both amusing and intriguing, with diverse, well-drawn characters and situations. I enjoyed it a great deal. Four stars. ( )
  astuo | Nov 28, 2010 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

When Josh, his parents, grandfather, and eight-year-old brother move into the old Tilton House, they discover such strange things as talking rats, a dimmer switch that makes the house invisible, and a powder that makes objects grow.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 4
3.5 1
4 9
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 118,498,388 books! | Top bar: Always visible