HomeGroupsTalkMoreZeitgeist
Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Loading...

The Dark Tower and Other Stories (1977)

by C. S. Lewis, C.S. Lewis

Series: Space Trilogy (lost fragment)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,247915,528 (3.57)18
The revered author's definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind. From C.S. Lewis-the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics-comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction. This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope-a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time. As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis's creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis's longtime friend and colleague.… (more)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 18 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
I think any CS Lewis Dan will appreciate this collection. All of the stories are pretty good, of course since they are unfinished manuscripts, there are not endings for most of them. I appreciate the notes that explain how these were found and details from Lewis life at the time of writing ( )
  Crystal199 | Oct 3, 2023 |
This is a collection of Lewis’s short fiction, some of it unfinished. The Dark Tower is set in the same universe as the Space Trilogy but not related to the main plot of that series, and it’s unfinished. My favourite story was Forms of Things Unknown about a mission to the moon, and I also enjoyed After Ten Years which reinterprets some Greek mythology. Unfortunately that one is also unfinished, but a couple of Lewis’s friends discuss where he was planning to go with the story based on their conversations with him. ( )
  vvbooklady | Jan 1, 2022 |
A few short stories, leaning on the science fiction side. One stood out as dreadful - "The Shoddy Lands." That one felt like a misogynistic screed, and nothing more. A few others were unremarkable; neither particularly good nor especially bad. However, two of them, the first and last stories in the book - weren't even completed. Unless you are devoted scholar of C.S. Lewis, why would you want to read incomplete works? Skip this and reread The Chronicles of Narnia instead. ( )
  fingerpost | Sep 25, 2021 |
A posthumous publication of manuscripts that was interesting yet unfulfilling. ( )
  aldimartino | Nov 24, 2020 |
A posthumous publication of manuscripts that was interesting yet unfulfilling. ( )
  Andy_DiMartino | Nov 24, 2020 |
Showing 1-5 of 8 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (3 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
C. S. Lewisprimary authorall editionscalculated
Lewis, C.S.main authorall editionsconfirmed

Belongs to Series

Space Trilogy (lost fragment)

Is contained in

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
'Of course,' said Orfieu, 'the sort of time-travelling you read about in books - time-travelling in the body - is absolutely impossible.'
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

The revered author's definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind. From C.S. Lewis-the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics-comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction. This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope-a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time. As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis's creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis's longtime friend and colleague.

No library descriptions found.

Book description
Haiku summary

Current Discussions

None

Popular covers

Quick Links

Rating

Average: (3.57)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 9
2.5 1
3 36
3.5 6
4 35
4.5 2
5 17

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 204,749,645 books! | Top bar: Always visible