HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Zeno's Conscience by Italo Svevo
Loading...

Zeno's Conscience

by Italo Svevo

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,645353,361 (3.78)66
  1. 40
    The Late Mattia Pascal by Luigi Pirandello (roby72)
  2. 30
    Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (S_Meyerson)
  3. 30
    Epitaph of a Small Winner by Machado de Assis (DieFledermaus, fspyck)
    fspyck: Ik vond er eenzelfde terughoudenheid in, Machado de Assis is misschien wat grimmiger, en speelt nog meer met vorm en intertekstualiteit, Svevo is ietwat hilarischer
  4. 00
    Incubus by Giuseppe Berto (thecoroner)
  5. 01
    The Lost Steps by Alejo Carpentier (caju)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 66 mentions

English (25)  Italian (5)  French (3)  Dutch (2)  German (1)  All languages (36)
Showing 1-5 of 25 (next | show all)
Li que era o livro favorito de James Joyce. Bem, se verdadeira, a informação mostra a alma de um homem e o funcionamento interno secreto de sua mente. Mas prefiro ver na Consciência de Zeno uma prefiguração da [in]consciência do Ricky Gervais da série The Office. Mal-humorado, conivente, esperto e aparentemente retardado, mentindo para si mesmo e para todos a seu redor, metendo-se em confusão, batendo nas mulheres e, acima de tudo, sem a menor graça, Zeno Cosini é o protagonista de um romance onde não acontece muita coisa. O enredo é monótono, se não convencional. Sketches podem ser divertidos quando bem escritos. Mas estas confissões são tão mundanas que fazem minha própria existência, p.ex., parecer fora do comum. O humor é tão low-profile que quase se perde. O protagonista é certamente auto-absorto, e não egoísta o suficiente para ser engraçado, nem um canalha psicologicamente o suficiente para ser fascinante, ou pelo menos carismático. O romance evoca pouco além de enfado. Nem emoção nem insight. Zeno é insípido: típico; rico, inapto para empreendimentos comerciais, marido relutante que disfarça a própria infidelidade, viciado em racionalizações, contemporizações e tabagismo. Como uma terapia, ele escreve suas memórias a conselho do médico. O estilo do livro é datado e sofre tanto quanto outros livros de vanguarda daquele período de tempo sofrem. Sendo nada mais do que um diário, a narrativa-memorial é desconexa, redundante e segue o fluxo-da-consciência. Mas com cefrteza as falácias e a atitude auto-enganadora de Zeno põem o dedo nas feridas de alguns leitores do sexo masculino... ( )
  jgcorrea | Dec 29, 2018 |
L'ho letto l'anno della maturità e lo ricordo molto poco. Eppure, ho ancora in bocca il sapore acre che sentivo ogni volta in cui leggevo la scritta U.S., ultima sigaretta. Quella che io ancora non ho fumato. ( )
  Eva_Filoramo | May 3, 2018 |
This review has been flagged by multiple users as abuse of the terms of service and is no longer displayed (show).
  lulaa | Jan 18, 2018 |
ספר מיוחד במינו על גיבור אנושי מאוד עם כל החולשות האפשריות אבל מקור להזדהות גדולה, מצחיק, מעייף, מרתק וחכם. ( )
  amoskovacs | Jun 10, 2017 |
I liked this because Zeno seemed more like a regular guy than just about anyone I've ever found in literature: mild, self-interested, inconsistent, given to dramatic gestures and hypocrisy, eager to be esteemed and loved and fairly lovable except when under duress. Says more about what I think a regular guy is than anything perhaps, and his self-satisfied little pensées did run thin after a certain time (about where he starts to get all cod-Mussolinian, all "the only cry to be respected is that of the victor," but again, because we've been with him a bit and know he is a regular guy, we forgive him it more or less because we remember our own moments of lame-assedly trying on tough-guy armour in our own heads). That and the painterly, by which I mean workmanlike, painter-as-in-house-painter, rendering of family dynamics and business matters in Italo-Austro-Slavonic Trieste in the immediate pre-WWI, make this a pleasant entertainment. ( )
  MeditationesMartini | May 7, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 25 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (42 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Svevo, Italoprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Benco, SilvioAfterwordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Contini, GabriellaIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Hardwick, ElizabethPrefacesecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Polkunen, MirjamTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Saccone, EduardoForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Tuin, JennyTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Weaver, WilliamTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Information from the Portuguese (Brazil) Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Preface: I am the doctor who is sometimes spoken of in rather unflattering terms in this novel.
Introduction: See my childhood?
When I spoke to the doctor about my weakness for smoking he told me to begin my analysis by tracing the growth of that habit from the beginning.
Quotations
Misunderstanding women is a clear sign of scant virility.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
La storia di Zeno Cosini, inetto a vivere: una specie di marionetta tirata da fili che quanto più egli indaga, gli sfuggono. Una coscienza inutile a mutare un destino che sembra ineluttabile. E' il capolavoro di Svevo, la prima storia italiana dove entra prepotentemente in scena la psicanalisi come coprotagonista; forse il più grande romanzo del Novecento italiano e uno dei maggiori della letteratura europea del XX secolo.
(piopas)
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375727760, Paperback)

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:19:48 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

Zenos Conscience (previously translated as Confessions of Zeno) is at once a comedy of errors, a sly testimonial to the joys of procrastination, and a surpassingly lucid vision of human nature. Italo Svevo tells the story of a hapless, doubting, guilt-ridden man paralyzed by fits of despair and ecstasy and tickled by his own cleverness. His doctor advises him, as a form of therapy, to write his memoirs; and in doing so, Zeno reconstructs and ultimately reshapes the events of his life into a palatable reality for himself - a reality, however, founded on compromise, delusion, and rationalization.… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5
1 6
1.5 1
2 37
2.5 10
3 96
3.5 35
4 154
4.5 20
5 111

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,067,091 books! | Top bar: Always visible