Search Site
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
4,534 (4,548)684,735 (3.88)180
R. F. Delderfield also wrote the novels God Is an Englishman and Theirs Was the Kingdom in the saga of the Swann family
— biography from Give Us This Day
To Serve Them All My Days 816 copies, 18 reviews
God is an Englishman 637 copies, 9 reviews
Theirs Was the Kingdom 409 copies, 4 reviews
Give Us This Day 298 copies, 1 review
Long Summer Day 274 copies, 4 reviews
Diana 214 copies, 1 review
The Green Gauntlet 211 copies, 3 reviews
Post of Honour 205 copies, 4 reviews
The Dreaming Suburb 200 copies, 2 reviews
The Avenue Goes to War 192 copies, 2 reviews
Seven Men of Gascony 124 copies, 3 reviews
Too Few For Drums 119 copies, 2 reviews
Napoleon's Marshals 77 copies, 2 reviews
Return Journey 70 copies, 1 review
Mr Sermon 64 copies, 1 review
A Horseman Riding By 57 copies, 1 review
Napoleon in Love 32 copies, 2 reviews
Retreat from Moscow 11 copies, 1 review
A Horseman Riding By [1978 TV mini series] (Original book) 14 copies, 1 review
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
R.F. (Ronald Frederick) Delderfield was born in South London. The family moved to Devon when he was a child and he attended the West Buckland School. After leaving school, he became a junior reporter for his father's newspaper, the Exmouth Chronicle, and eventually rose to become its editor. He then began to write stage plays and became a highly successful novelist, renowned for his portrayals of slices of English life. His multi-novel sagas, including A Horseman Riding By (1966–1968), a trilogy consisting of Long Summer's Day, Post of Honour and The Green Gauntlet, made him one of Britain's most popular authors, and his books are still widely read. Many of his works were adapted for British television. His autobiography, For My Own Amusement, was published in 1972.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.88)
1 7
2 35
2.5 8
3 123
3.5 41
4 241
4.5 46
5 143

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

R. F. Delderfield is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


R. F. Delderfield is composed of 11 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 170,163,977 books! | Top bar: Always visible