Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Anna Kavan (1901–1968)

Author of Ice

Includes the names: Anne Kavan, Kavan Anna, Anna Kavan, Helen Ferguson, By (author) Anna Kavan, アンナ・カヴァン

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
1,593 (2,226)5512,031 (3.99)180
The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women (Contributor) 145 copies, 3 reviews
The Folio Science Fiction Anthology (Contributor) 28 copies
Stories for the Dead of Night (Contributor) 26 copies
Babysæsonen : en antologi (Author, some editions; Author, some editions) 4 copies, 1 review
A book of shorter stories (Contributor) 4 copies
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Cause of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Anna Kavan was born Helen Emily Woods in Cannes, France to wealthy British parents. She spent her childhood in Europe, the UK, and the USA. At age 17, she married Donald Ferguson, with whom she had a son, and accompanied him for his work to Burma, where she began writing. Her early works were published under her first married name, Helen Ferguson. She remarried in 1931 to Stuart Edmonds, an artist, and lived in England, Europe, the USA, Australia, and New Zealand before settling in London. She became a heroin addict and used amphetamines, spent two long periods in mental hospitals, and attempted suicide at least three times. In 1939, she moved to New York and legally changed her name to Anna Kavan, taken from a character in her novels Let Me Alone (1930) and A Stranger Still (1935). She became an acclaimed writer and painter and a successful interior decorator. During the early part of World War II, she worked for a military psychiatric unit, and after returning to England in 1943, she was an editorial assistant for Horizon, which published some of her short stories and book reviews. She also worked as an assistant to the magazine's editor, Cyril Connolly. In 1950, she established the architecture and design firm Kavan Properties, and during the 1960s, bought and renovated old houses in London. Anaïs Nin, in her poetic literary study The Novel of the Future (1968), praised Anna Kavan for her "nocturnal writing" alongside Djuna Barnes, John Hawkes, and others. The novel Ice (1967) is generally considered Kavan's masterpiece. Several volumes of her work were published posthumously. Anna Kavan's friend, writer Rhys Davies, based his novel The Honeysuckle Girl (1975) on her early life.
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.99)
1 4
2 14
2.5 2
3 51
3.5 33
4 124
4.5 26
5 93

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Anna Kavan is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Anna Kavan is composed of 7 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 148,945,852 books! | Top bar: Always visible