HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Loading...

The Maze Runner (2009)

by James Dashner

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: The Maze Runner (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
9,188638494 (3.81)1 / 333
  1. 440
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (smammers)
  2. 220
    Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card (aeleone)
    aeleone: More sci-fi than Maze Runner, but the characters experience a similar situation as the boys in the maze. Plus, it's super classic.
  3. 122
    Lord of the Flies by William Golding (bookworm12, trillianiris)
    trillianiris: When I read this, it reminded me of an orchestrated Lord of the Flies.
  4. 80
    Gone by Michael Grant (stephxsu)
    stephxsu: Incredible world-building and suspense-building featuring a plethora of interesting and sympathetic characters.
  5. 40
    Incarceron by Catherine Fisher (bluenotebookonline)
    bluenotebookonline: Bit more fantasy than The Maze Runner, but a similar setup (hero who's trapped) and pace.
  6. 40
    Running With the Wolves by J.E. Reed (paigemartin)
    paigemartin: The characters are placed in a foreign environment without an understanding of how they got there or who put them there. The battle to escape back to reality is filled with monsters and adventures that lead to an incredible amount of character development.… (more)
  7. 30
    Wool by Hugh Howey (KatyBee)
  8. 52
    Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Waterbuggg)
    Waterbuggg: Both books are action-packed and have a similar premise and secret.
  9. 00
    The Last Girl by Joe Hart (LiteraryReadaholic)
  10. 22
    Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi (bluenotebookonline)
    bluenotebookonline: Also action packed, has a dystopian setting, includes quite a bit of kids vs. adults, etc. Prinz award winner.
  11. 00
    The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier (Anonymous user)
  12. 00
    House of Stairs by William Sleator (gaialover)
  13. 00
    Das Labyrinth erwacht by Rainer Wekwerth (Friederike.Geissler)
  14. 00
    The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen (kaledrina)
  15. 01
    The Final Trade (The Dominion Trilogy) by Joe Hart (LiteraryReadaholic)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

English (627)  Spanish (6)  German (1)  Catalan (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (637)
Showing 1-5 of 627 (next | show all)
From School Library Journal
Grade 6–10—Thomas wakes up in an elevator, remembering nothing but his own name. He emerges into a world of about 60 teen boys who have learned to survive in a completely enclosed environment, subsisting on their own agriculture and supplies from below. A new boy arrives every 30 days. The original group has been in "the glade" for two years, trying to find a way to escape through a maze that surrounds their living space. They have begun to give up hope. Then a comatose girl arrives with a strange note, and their world begins to change. There are some great, fast-paced action scenes, particularly those involving the nightmarish Grievers who plague the boys. Thomas is a likable protagonist who uses the information available to him and his relationships (including his ties to the girl, Teresa) to lead the Gladers. Unfortunately, the question of whether the teens will escape the maze is answered 30 pages before the book ends, and the intervening chapter loses momentum. The epilogue, which would be deliciously creepy coming immediately after the plot resolves, fails to pack a punch as a result. That said, The Maze Runner has a great hook, and fans of dystopian literature, particularly older fans of Jeanne DuPrau's The City of Ember (Random, 2003), will likely enjoy this title and ask for the inevitable sequel.—Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System, OH END ( )
  fifthelecoach | Oct 20, 2018 |
X meets Y: Average dystopian YA novel meets LOST

My thoughts: The book is ok but I feel like it was meant to make you buy the 2nd and 3rd ones. Like it was meant to work best as a trilogy and not as a standalone novel. Who knows? ( )
  Vulco1 | Oct 12, 2018 |
After 91 pages of frustration and eyerolling, I decided to forego powering through the rest of the story. I could not have cared less about the main character, Thomas, or any of the rest of the cast. I can't speak to the treatment of The Maze Runner's single female character because she was still in a coma, but the rest of the boys' mindset toward her did not bode well for her three-dimensionality.

The premise is interesting but Thomas is an arrogant shithead. He has no respect for his only friend, and his reactions are all over the place. Overall I would say this wasn't the price of a paperback book and I wish I hadn't spent the money. ( )
  whatsmacksaid | Sep 21, 2018 |
Pretty good, but it didn't stay with me afterwards. I wanted to understand the scale and structure and purpose of the maze better. I understand that's being saved for the sequel, but we should get at least a few answers in the first book. ( )
  JanetNoRules | Sep 17, 2018 |
This is, unsurprisingly, a far better experience than the movie, though I definitely enjoyed the movie well enough and found that it actually followed the book pretty well. It's a fast, engaging read, and worth it if you found the movie plot at all intriguing. ( )
  TiffanyAK | Aug 26, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 627 (next | show all)
 
The story reads like a maze with erroneous turns, dead ends, and a plot that should work but falls short.
added by Katya0133 | editLibrary Media Connection, Constance G. Pappas (Nov 1, 2009)
 
James Dashner has created a thrilling dystopian novel.
 
The Maze Runner has a great hook, and fans of dystopian literature, particularly older fans of Jeanne DuPrau's The City of Ember (Random, 2003), will likely enjoy this title and ask for the inevitable sequel.
added by Katya0133 | editSchool Library Journal, Kristin Anderson (Oct 1, 2009)
 
With a fast-paced narrative steadily answering the myriad questions that arise and an ever-increasing air of tension, Dashner's suspenseful adventure will keep readers guessing until the very end.
added by Katya0133 | editPublishers Weekly (Sep 21, 2009)
 

» Add other authors (45 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
James Dashnerprimary authorall editionscalculated
Deakins, MarkNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Musselman, DanExecutive producersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Reichler, MitchellAuthor photosecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Straub, PhilipCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Alternative titles
Information from the German Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Lynette. This book was a three-year journey,
and you never doubted.
First words
He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape. (Novelist).
Haiku summary
Teen must run through maze
To figure out his past and
Survive scary plot.
(legallypuzzled)

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0385737955, Paperback)

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every thirty days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.


From the Hardcover edition.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:20:02 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Sixteen-year-old Thomas wakes up with no memory in the middle of a maze and realizes he must work with the community in which he finds himself if he is to escape.

» see all 12 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

James Dashner is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5 3
1 49
1.5 12
2 157
2.5 36
3 620
3.5 133
4 927
4.5 104
5 669

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,652,194 books! | Top bar: Always visible